Sentinel: Question on creating a favorite list on sentinel with colorado DTRS sites

chad_96

Premium Subscriber
Hello all,

I am new to the digital scanner world. I just purchased the Uniden Sds100 and downloaded the sentinel software. On another thread I posted I was advised it's easier to program using this sentinel program. So, my question is this. When I go to add my local county/city channels, it seems it automatically adds ALL the sites in colorado on the State of Colorado DTRS system as well, when I make a favorites list, and add my county and the channels contained. Do I keep the "Sites" list as is, with what appears to be all sites in colorado on the system and just continue building my favorite list? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

chad_96

Premium Subscriber
Hi Dave 3825,

Thank you for your response. I just want to make sure I'm on the right idea with you. So, I chose my county in colorado who is on the Colorado DTRS state system. When I add the county sheriff's channel to the favorites list, it adds the channel, but also loads all what are showing as sites as well through the whole state. I assume maybe that's because it's a state system, and if a particular radio was being used a long distance away by law enforcement it would use that "site" or tower closest even though it's on my county sherrifs channel, perhaps? Just seems odd that it automatically loads every state "site" with their frequencies when I just try to add my county Channel. So if I understand, leaving all the sites on the favorite list is no big deal, they are just there even though I'm really using one or two sites, depending on the departments location? Sorry to be a pest just trying to figure out why it automatically loaded the state of colorado DTRS "sites" when I only added my county's 1 channel?

chad_96

Premium Subscriber
All the information in the Radio Reference database is geocoded.
Learn about location control and how to tell the radio where it is.