R8600 Rec'd My R8600 Today and Passing Out Cigars!

Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
284
Location
Central Mn
#21
I emailed Icom about adding DMR as a paid upgrade, similar to how Uniden charges for their upgrades. No response yet. Instead of asking why, I say why not. Just another option for our receivers. I would pay for it if needed. IF Uniden would have made their new SDS200 a full receiver with its current capabilities, they would corner the market, or give Icom and AOR a run for their money.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
7,190
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
#22
I would give $100 for a DMR upgrade at this point. Icom, are you listening?

I emailed Icom about adding DMR as a paid upgrade, similar to how Uniden charges for their upgrades. No response yet. Instead of asking why, I say why not. Just another option for our receivers. I would pay for it if needed. IF Uniden would have made their new SDS200 a full receiver with its current capabilities, they would corner the market, or give Icom and AOR a run for their money.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
284
Location
Central Mn
#24
Just got a reply.
“While we have had numerous discussions regarding this upgrade, at this time there are no plans to offer an upgrade for this feature in the near future”. Ray Novak is who replied to me. Told them in my email that I was considering the 8600 but wanted to wait to see if DMR would added. Guess when time comes to get a base receiver, I’ll be comparing all to see what options each have. Sometime this summer I’ll be getting something.
 

TailGator911

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
1,021
Location
Fairborn, OH
#25
I've never had so many filters on a radio! I was doing some comparing with my R75. For example, I was only barely hearing the maritime net on 14300 with pbt tweaked as much as it could be tweaked. Very distant with too much Rice Krispies in the background. On the R8600 I played around with pbt and fiddling with different filters and suddenly 14300 came in much better than the R75. With a particular system of filters I was able to lock it in to where it was very listenable. When I saved this to a memory channel, all of my filter settings were gone. I have to go back and see where I went wrong. When you transfer from VFO to Memory, I thought it transferred your settings as you have them on the frequency. What am I missing here.

JD
kf4anc

EDIT: just re-did it the way it was and transferred to memory and it worked this time. Not sure what I did wrong, but I made it right, and not sure what I did right lol. Getting to know this radio and very impressed.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
661
#26
Why do you need DMR on a wideband, base-station receiver? DMR is primarily used for commercial trunk systems. ICOM has *never* done anything involved trunk-tracking. So even if it could decode DMR (without tracking) then it'd be pointless for most users.
Its insanity to leave one of the mainstream digital modes off the R8600 and R30, they won't add it because the Mototrbo variant of DMR is the main competitor to their iDas variant of NXDN. You don't need to track it for it to work quite well, Whistler scanners don't track DMR yet work as good as or better than Uniden on small systems.

"pointless for most users" is your opinion not reality, P25 is pointless where I am and DMR rules the digital domain here.
 

TailGator911

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
1,021
Location
Fairborn, OH
#28
My Whistler TRX-1 does very well on DMR local stuff. Mostly small business, hams, security companies, hospitals and schools/buses. Not much NXDN around me that's very interesting, but DMR is growing quickly. My TRX-1 and a window mounted HG tube antenna hears all the DMR in my immediate area. When it snows it really gets busy. It would be nice to have DMR on the 8600, an all mode wideband receiver, but I can live without it as I have a couple of capable radios to dedicate to it if and when I need it.

JD
kf4anc
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
661
#30
I’m reconsidering selling my Uniden 436 since I can get DMR for an additional cost. Icom is making a mistake but not much we can do about it. Still like my R30 though.
If Icom added DMR I'd puchase an R30 and an R8600, I'd also be happy to pay extra for DMR as well, I don't think it will ever happen though so the money will go on something else.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
284
Location
Central Mn
#32
Thanks. Think I’ll try the Diamond D220D. Hope this works until spring, then use this for my camper. Just have to decide on coax. Been away from radios for awhile, coax has sure changed. Just need 20 feet, and the right adapter for both my R30 and Uniden 436. Suggestions for a good flexible coax for indoors use?
 

TailGator911

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
1,021
Location
Fairborn, OH
#34
Now that the novelty has worn off and the honeymoon is over, I have made several observations here. One, for all of the features and filters and waterfall etc. crammed into this thing, I am finding it a bit small. I am still trying to decide what software program to go with so that the radio face will be larger and right in my face on my 19-inch flat screen, but I am reading that for $170.00 the Icom software is 'limited'. RT systems I don't know much about other than it is $150 cheaper. To put this radio interface on my monitor is just to turn this $2300 radio into a seriously over-priced sdr dongle. Someone already noted this in another thread and I have to agree. I have no gripes about this fine radio, far from it. Could the tone detect be better? Maybe so, but I've got that on 6-7 scanners here already. The space I created for this radio is to the left of me and on my second shelf, not so ergonomic when I want to spin the dial and phase the filters. I need it right in front of me so I can tweak the knobs to my heart's content without stretching and squinting and muttering bad words and browsing eBay for more powerful readers. This is a fantastic radio, and it demands attention. I need to do some major radio desk renovations here in order to be able to see the display clearly and have it at my fingertips so I can touch the screen. So do I want 3rd party software just to make it easier to see? I'm on the fence here. I'm defeating the whole purpose, it seems, if I get software for the radio. To be or not to be. That is the question.
 

escortz28

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
134
Location
Powell, Ohio
#35
Now that the novelty has worn off and the honeymoon is over, I have made several observations here. One, for all of the features and filters and waterfall etc. crammed into this thing, I am finding it a bit small. I am still trying to decide what software program to go with so that the radio face will be larger and right in my face on my 19-inch flat screen, but I am reading that for $170.00 the Icom software is 'limited'. RT systems I don't know much about other than it is $150 cheaper. To put this radio interface on my monitor is just to turn this $2300 radio into a seriously over-priced sdr dongle. Someone already noted this in another thread and I have to agree. I have no gripes about this fine radio, far from it. Could the tone detect be better? Maybe so, but I've got that on 6-7 scanners here already. The space I created for this radio is to the left of me and on my second shelf, not so ergonomic when I want to spin the dial and phase the filters. I need it right in front of me so I can tweak the knobs to my heart's content without stretching and squinting and muttering bad words and browsing eBay for more powerful readers. This is a fantastic radio, and it demands attention. I need to do some major radio desk renovations here in order to be able to see the display clearly and have it at my fingertips so I can touch the screen. So do I want 3rd party software just to make it easier to see? I'm on the fence here. I'm defeating the whole purpose, it seems, if I get software for the radio. To be or not to be. That is the question.
Hi JD,

The RT software is only a programming tool, not designed for operation of the 8600 via a PC. It is an alternative to the CS8600 Icom software. My biggest disappointment with the RS8600 Icom software is that the displayed screen is fixed in size regardless of your PC video graphics card and monitor size (2nd disappointment is the price for the provided features; 3rd is that Icom has not issued any updates since product inception). HRD (Ham Radio Deluxe) can also be used in a limited fashion (configure HRD for the R75 and set the proper address and handshaking protocol). I have not found a satisfactory software application for my needs; I own all four of the fore-mentioned applications.

I believe the reason we don't have a decent software application is that there is a limited market for the developer to sell to - small market for >$2000 receivers.

I went horizontal as well as vertical in my shack design. I have ~10.5' of horizontal space (two desks side-by-side) and I use a desk shelf on each desk providing for two levels. I have the receivers including scanners on one desk and the transceivers including accessories on the other desk. Even still, I would love a video output on the 8600 like the 7610 offers to have a large, readily viewable display.

If you find an application and configuration that works for you, please share.

73

Dave
 

TailGator911

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 12, 2005
Messages
1,021
Location
Fairborn, OH
#36
Hey Dave, thanks for the reply. I also have HRD, but was hoping for a more realistic interface that looks more like the actual radio. You're probably right in your assessment that there isn't enough market out there for software for such an expensive receiver. I will keep an eye out tho I am slowly but surely talking myself out of it. Seems a crime not to rearrange my desk to accommodate this radio so that I can operate it by touch. If any radio I have deserves it, it's this one! Thanks!

JD
kf4anc
 
Top