Scanner Tales: Floored in the Comm Center

N9JIG

Sheriff
Many years ago I was a sworn officer for a suburban Chicago village. I had been charged with overseeing the 9-1-1 Center’s technology and maintenance for several years since I was a “radio guy”. My buddy Ted was a lead 9-1-1 dispatcher for us and helped handle many maintenance duties in our small 9-1-1 Center located at the PD. He also had been the Best Man at my wedding and a friend for many years.

Our town has about 14,000 people and we ran a 24/7 9-1-1 center with 2 positions, usually staffed with a single operator on most shifts. Being a small but progressive community, our people all wore multiple hats. Our town also has a reputation for handling many tasks in-house that most other places hire out for. For example, the Village owns its own electrical plant and distribution network and Ted and I handle most maintenance of the 9-1-1 center and other communications equipment for the village.

I had written the RFP for the 9-1-1 equipment and radio consoles and supervised their installation a few years before these events. Ted was the only other guy on the department that understood technology intimately. Between the two of us we handled just about anything with a wire attached.

Our 9-1-1 Comm Center at the time of this story (late 1990’s) used a two-position DOS-based ModuCom radio console system, a Plant 20-line APU, an admin phone and a pair of Windows computers at each position. The furniture was steel cabinets and desks all bolted together in a large U against the back wall, all placed on industrial carpet over a concrete floor.