SDR# & RTL-SDR USB Sensitivity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KG5RF

I have the RTL-SDR USB dongle and am using the current version of SDR#. I have tested the combination with local FM radio stations at very low RF gain levels.
In trying to locate interference in the 588 MHZ - 608 MHz band for wireless mics, I am picking up noise floor only - even at full RF gain. However, our wireless mic receivers are picking up all kinds of noise.
I'm new to SDR# and have most of the defaults still set.

Suggestions?

hamradionl

@KG5RF,
Noelec NESDR SMArt XTR SDR go to 2200 MHz, its more sens on the higher bands, there are 2 versions with or without Bias-t.
And FM stop filter or Bandpass filter helps.

spongella

Premium Subscriber
OM, what antenna are you using for your SDR dongle? That would make a difference in what you would be hearing.

What exact frequency is your wireless mic transmitting on? Can you hear the wireless mic audio on your SDR-dongle? That would at least be a good test to see how your SDR is working.

The only interference in that portion of the band you are speaking of (588-608 MHz) could be from a local TV station but I doubt that is the problem.

spongella

Premium Subscriber
I've used a number of SDRs over several years from cheap imported dongles to the HackRF but recently have been using the FlightAware Prostick. It was purchased mainly for ADS-B but I found it much more sensitive in the 470 MHz portion of the UHF band than all others. It does have an internal LNA which perhaps gives it an edge. Have not yet tried it with an up-converter though to see how it fares on HF.

Ubbe

As you are a licensed radio amateur you probably already know about intermodulation.