SDRTrunk Decoding of transmissions

ChrisABQ

I have been using SDRTrunk for 2 years now and have never really heard an answer for this:

Question: Does SDRTrunk automatically decode every transmission even those where the alias is NOT selected to Listen, Record or Stream. OR is it skipped totally except for showing up as occupying a channel slot. I'm wondering if CPU is being utilized by decoding alias I have not set to hear. Using latest 0.6.0 Final version.
Thanks

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber

WX4JCW

Premium Subscriber
im trying to figure out when say an encrypted channel is active and takes up a slot, do the priorities even work

DSheirer

Premium Subscriber
Wouldn't it make sense to not decode something that you don't want to hear?
Yes, maybe, if you assume that everyone uses the software the same way, everyone is only interested in calls/audio, everyone has an alias list that's fully/correctly configured, etc.

I could expose lots of configuration options and put the onus on the user to configure the software correctly ... and then field countless questions about why the software doesn't work correctly for them.

The reality is that folks use the software in many different ways and the more configuration options you expose to the user, the more complicated the software becomes to use. The learning curve for new users is already steep, so I try to keep the default behavior/configuration as open as possible and I try not to make assumptions about how anyone will use the software.

cheers,
Denny

belvdr

No longer interested in living
Yes, maybe, if you assume that everyone uses the software the same way, everyone is only interested in calls/audio, everyone has an alias list that's fully/correctly configured, etc.

I could expose lots of configuration options and put the onus on the user to configure the software correctly ... and then field countless questions about why the software doesn't work correctly for them.