Texas 700 MHz ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

ka5lqj

Hi,

Yeah, I know, I live in Lousyanna :roll: :(. Here's the deal. I'm a ham radio operator for 27+ years. I've also been *active* for some 27 years as a NOAA-trained Skywarn spotter. Lately, I've been checking in to the 147.150 (+600 kHz & 186.2 tone) Bossier City Marshal's Emergency Task Force, Medical Group 7, & ARES Groups Net on Tuesday night at 7 PM. It's on the Bossier City Amateur's Radio Association's repeater. This is a FEMA net for training purposes and was well used last week when we had 27 confirmed, active, tornado's in the 7 parish area of Northwest Louisiana. Sadly, we had one fatality, a man in a pickup ran into a tree as it fell and the rain was so heavy, he could not see out of his windshield. :(

Now, North Louisiana is finally & slowly changing all agencies over to the LAWIN (Louisiana Wireless Inoperative Network) with P-25. I happen to be collecting agencies within a 250 mile radius of Shreveport, LA, for a database, of sorts for those in the Skywarn (Trained) and FEMA-certified group in our area. I'm in-process of moving and setting up my shack/monitoring post at the Lake house. Because of some medical problems, soon I won't be able to drive, so I will hope to be a dispatch of sorts, passing on any information I hear on VHF low-band, VHF Hi-band, UHF lo-band and 700mhz to both the K5SHV, Skywarn repeater and the K5BMO Marshal's repeater. :wink: :D.

I'm wondering, aloud, if anyone has heard any scuttlebutt, about when East Texas/Central Texas/North Texas is going to 700 MHZ?

ANY information would be greatly appreciated. And Yes, I know some of Central and North Texas have already made the switchover.

GOD BLESS,

Don/KA5LQJ/8Q3224/KKR2747

nd5y

A 700 MHz interoperabilty overlay system is being planned for parts of Texas. Read the documents MaxTracker posted in #4.

All states have 700 MHz State Licenses since Feb 2002. Here are the ones for Texas and Louisiana.