• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

TK-790 remote mount cable length

Status
Not open for further replies.

radiowilson

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
5
Location
Pendleton, Oregon
Howdy. I know there are three stock sizes of remote mount cables. Is there a maximum cable length specification? I am looking to mount a mobile into a facility with two operating positions for a transportation department. Unfortunately they are a fair distance apart.

I have another facility with a tone remote adaptor installed for multiple operatiing points. This is not ideal, however, as the radio display shows "COMPUTER" and the remote units aare not able to display the channel name or access the other radio operating features/PF keys.

Thanks a lot. This is a great forum that I found!
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
28
50 foot max

Hi, I checked the price book and you can get a cable that is up to 50ft max. List price is 190.00. The book says that you can't install hex files (new firmware) through a cable this long, but programming channels is OK.

Many years ago, I installed a dual head radio with two long control cables in a Air Force control tower. It must have worked because I never had to go back.

Good luck to you.
 

NC4AB

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
70
Location
Wallburg, NC
From the Kenwood Pricing Sheets:

Option L864 Extended Control Head Cable (up to 50 ft. max.)
Option L865 Extended Control Head Cable (up to 100 ft. max.)

Another option would be to use a couple of the CPI remotes (only require 2 conductors and they give you pretty much full control over the radio)
 

code3cowboy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
627
Location
CA
Why not just remote it (tone) so you can eliminate the problems you will run into with DC?
 

radiowilson

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
5
Location
Pendleton, Oregon
Hi. The option of tone remote is difficult for the TK-790 (at least as I have seen it done in my other facilities) as the remotes do not show any radio features (can't adjust scan lists, channel select, group select, other PF key features). The main radio deck displays "COMPUTER" and the interface is tied to the 25 pin connector.

If there is a more dedicated Kenwood tone remote feature set available for multiple operating positions I am all ears!!!! I need all operating positions to be able to see the channel to which the radio is tuned, be able to change channels, operate some PF keys (TA, SCAN, D/A). This is in three buildings of a transportation maintenance yard.

Thanks for the replies!
 

n7maq-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
6
Location
Oregon
Hi. The option of tone remote is difficult for the TK-790 (at least as I have seen it done in my other facilities) as the remotes do not show any radio features (can't adjust scan lists, channel select, group select, other PF key features). The main radio deck displays "COMPUTER" and the interface is tied to the 25 pin connector.

If there is a more dedicated Kenwood tone remote feature set available for multiple operating positions I am all ears!!!! I need all operating positions to be able to see the channel to which the radio is tuned, be able to change channels, operate some PF keys (TA, SCAN, D/A). This is in three buildings of a transportation maintenance yard.

Thanks for the replies!
The problem with multiple remotes being able to lock channels out of a scan list is someone WILL lock out a channel that another person needs to hear. It's best that the scan list is fixed, and only be changed from the front panel by one person. If that is a problem then you should look at multiple base units. As far as the T/A you can just add a direct channel in the programming.

We have installed TK790's at a lot of fire stations as base units, and a few do have the two head option with the custom cables.



Jim.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top