Unbelievably naive newbie asks for scanning help

dadonatrain

You won’t believe how little I know but I gotta ask so here goes.

I’m just getting started railfanning. I don’t have a scanner. I’m reading things like Scanning 101, etc, here and elsewhere, and I’m so naive I think I need Scanning 001 first!

it sounds to me that any scanner CAN receive MANY channels or frequencies, only some of which are for railroads and railfans. So I need to tell my scanner “make it possible for me to use you to listen to just the frequencies or channels the railroads use”. Is this what’s meant by “programming my scanner”?

Assuming I’m close so far, once I’ve done that, lets say I’m railfanning next to the tracks where I know I’ll see CSX and NS trains, and they both use separate channels. Do I need to pick just one of those channels to listen to at a time? Like telling my TV to let me watch just ESPN for the moment? Or would I automatically hear every channel being used that’s close enough for my scanner to pick up the channel?

Thanks in advance

tvengr

Well Known Member
A scanner will scan all of the frequencies at once and stop on any one with activity until finished and then resume scanning again. You can program just the frequencies active in your area to speed up the scanning or search all of the railroad frequencies.

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the RR forums: You also need to take in consideration voice mode used. Skimming through the South Carolina Railroads database page, looks like analog conventional (mode FMN) is still prevalent but some rail traffic has made the move to NXDN (digital). Be sure your receiver covers both voice modes to make sure you don't miss any traffic if you travel somewhere with your scanner. Also for future reference railroad & railfanning discussion is better suited for its respective forum (posted below)

dadonatrain