Vintage Uniden Scanner Question (specifically about packaging)

edp211

Hello! I am a law student doing some research on Uniden Bearcat radios from the 1990s. Specifically, I am wondering if the Uniden Bearcat BC 145xl 10 Band 16 Channel Scanning Radio Scanner would have come with the serial number written on the packaging (rather than the radio itself). I would really appreciate any insight you have.

More generally, I'm wondering if Uniden put the serial numbers on scanner boxes/packaging in the 1990s? And if so, would it have been printed directly onto the box or would it have been applied as a sticker that could be removed from the box?

For context, I am investigating whether a scanner box found without the scanner inside would have had the serial number printed on it anywhere in order to match it to the scanner itself.

Thanks so much for any help or ideas you might have!

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
Hello! I am a law student doing some research on Uniden Bearcat radios from the 1990s. Specifically, I am wondering if the Uniden Bearcat BC 145xl 10 Band 16 Channel Scanning Radio Scanner would have come with the serial number written on the packaging (rather than the radio itself). I would really appreciate any insight you have.

More generally, I'm wondering if Uniden put the serial numbers on scanner boxes/packaging in the 1990s? And if so, would it have been printed directly onto the box or would it have been applied as a sticker that could be removed from the box?

For context, I am investigating whether a scanner box found without the scanner inside would have had the serial number printed on it anywhere in order to match it to the scanner itself.

Thanks so much for any help or ideas you might have!
Yes, in that time frame, the serial number on the box should match the radio.

In case you didn't know, to help you, Uniden bought the bearcat scanner lineup in 1983 from the Electra company in Cumberland, Indiana.