VMWare's purchase by Broadcom

BinaryMode

That's incredible. Especially how these companies throw around the B word all the time like nothing. Even in Congress. "Billion here, billion there, who cares..."

I have been using VMware Workstation Player since circa 2007. And I was just recently exploring vSphere. I hope Broadcom doesn't mess up what is a great product.

...to market and focusing on those partners that can deliver growth and significant revenue

It's all about the money. It's never about quality and providing a quality product that consumers (who are your capital) would embrace.

Today's products (like on Chinazon) and their customer support are out the window. Greed will destroy us all...

Wikipedia said:
Tan Hock Eng is a Malaysian-born Chinese-American business executive. He is the CEO of Broadcom Inc. He was the highest-earning CEO in the US in 2017, earning US$103.2 million that year.

MSI Astro P25 ( 7.x / A20xy.z) zone core servers (ie. ZC's, PM, UNC, UEM, etc)
are all virtual servers running off a VMware host, on HP DL380 Gen x servers

Expect MSI to pass on any price increases.

belvdr

No longer interested in living
MSI Astro P25 ( 7.x / A20xy.z) zone core servers (ie. ZC's, PM, UNC, UEM, etc)
are all virtual servers running off a VMware host, on HP DL380 Gen x servers

Expect MSI to pass on any price increases.
There are plenty of other hypervisors they can use. Anyone that continues with VMware, especially if they are in the top 2000 that will get a hefty price increase, isn't doing their homework.

belvdr

Per Broadcom's investor notes, they plan on increasing VMware's standalone FY22 by 80% over 3 years ($4.7B to $8.5B). That's going to need aggressive cost cutting as well as increased revenue. I'd wager VMware Fusion will be axed; it has always been a back seat product in VMware's portfolio. I don't know much about the Windows variant.

trimmerj

Premium Subscriber