Audio Distortion on 2 Meter FM

ShawnInPaso

I've had an SDS200 for a couple of months or so and after a little learning curve have really enjoyed it so far. One issue that kind of nags at me is some distortion.
As a ham radio operator, I listen a lot to 2 meter FM (144 to 148 mHz) and typically narrow band FM. In the busier part of the band, 146.500 to 147.99, audio from the SDS200 is fine. But there is a frequency in the lower part of the band I listen to a few guys chat which is in the 144 mHz range. It is only in these frequencies that the audio is distorted. The distortion occurs for anyone I hear and at any distance close or far. These same people transmitting on the upper part of the 2 meter band sound just fine. Likewise, if I transmit with my handheld radio on 144.500 my signal is distorted but on 146.520 it is not? These are all simplex signals, no repeaters involved and certainly not simulcast and I've ruled out phase distortion. Just point to point transmissions.

When I listen to the 144.xxx transmissions on my 2 meter transceiver or my BCT15X they sound fine, no distortion.

So far I have tried every available filter setting, tried setting to WFM and tried adjusting slightly off frequency (e.g. 144.500 vs. 144.505). None of these correct the issue.
Frankly it's not a big deal but its kind of gotten under my skin why it is occurring. I did search the forum but everything I found with the keyword distortion had to do with simulcast.

Just wondering if others may have some ideas or experienced this?

Thanks

ShawnInPaso

Are there any strong carriers nearby could be desense with the SDS series using analog.
No strong signals nearby, I'm in somewhat of a rural area. Thanks for the suggestion though, I wouldn't have thought of that.

ShawnInPaso

Typically, 2 meters modulation is FM, not NFM or WFM. Try using IFX on the frequencies that are distorted.