• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCT15X Programming Layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

Colton25

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
749
#1
Does anyone have their scanner programmed similar to a radios programming layout? I have had my BCT15X for a few years now along with two Kenwood Tk-x180 mobile radios and to be honest every time i attempt to program this scanner the way i want i end up giving up. So here i am today looking for help getting over this mountain of a task in my eyes. My area consists of only conventional so maybe this scanner is just too fancy for my needs. After programming and using my Kenwood's i have found it to be a very easy layout for me, and i want to program my scanner the same. In the Kenwood software you have zones and channels, and with Uniden you have systems, groups, and channels. I understand that when you create a system you choose the system type (strictly conventional for me) then you have groups within the system that then have channels within the group and this is to help better organize your scanner. I've tried everything i know in attempt to organize my scanner like my radios with no success. I'm looking to have zones and channels, in my radio i have a zone for each county around me and within that zone are the channels within that county. This is easy for me to understand and remember, and i know my scanner is capable of this, i think the main reason i'm confused is there's no such thing as a zone in FreeSCAN. If anyone can point me in the right direction i would greatly appreciate it. Below i have attached a screenshot of what my scanner layout looks like right now.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
157
Location
northern Illinois
#2
I am not familiar with Freescan, but I have 3 BCT15Xs and a BCD996P2.

In your situation (and mine), ignore the concept of Groups and just use one single group per System. Program all the channels for that system (zone) in that group. It sounds like that mimics the way your Kenwood is programmed.

A Kenwood zone is akin to a BCT15X system is akin to a bank in older scanners.
 

Colton25

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
749
#3
The way I have it in the attachment, I have one system for each county, but then I have the group that I need to do something with... If a group mimics a zone, then I would have one system and 7 zones. I tried this but it still seems way too confusing.


I am not familiar with Freescan, but I have 3 BCT15Xs and a BCD996P2.



In your situation (and mine), ignore the concept of Groups and just use one single group per System. Program all the channels for that system (zone) in that group. It sounds like that mimics the way your Kenwood is programmed.



A Kenwood zone is akin to a BCT15X system is akin to a bank in older scanners.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2003
Messages
157
Location
northern Illinois
#4
The way I have it in the attachment, I have one system for each county, but then I have the group that I need to do something with... If a group mimics a zone, then I would have one system and 7 zones. I tried this but it still seems way too confusing.
What I mean is set the scanner up so that a System (not a group) mimics a Zone.

If your Kenwood has 7 zones, program 7 systems into your scanner.

When programming an individual system, put all the channels for that system into one group, e.g., group 1.
 

Colton25

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
749
#5
That's how i have it now but essentially that is like having a group within a group. It sill doesn't make it very organized when your looking at the scanner.


What I mean is set the scanner up so that a System (not a group) mimics a Zone.

If your Kenwood has 7 zones, program 7 systems into your scanner.

When programming an individual system, put all the channels for that system into one group, e.g., group 1.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
320
Location
Michigan
#6
That's how i have it now but essentially that is like having a group within a group. It sill doesn't make it very organized when your looking at the scanner.
Give the system and the group the same name. They alternate in the display in receive mode-but not if both are the same.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top