Mobile quad band antenna or duplex?

ThisIsMeToo

Premium Subscriber
Novice here looking for some antenna advice. Seems like a lot of great advice here already but cannot find anything related to my question.

I acquired an TH-9800 mostly for the quad band aspect. Installed it mobile with a Nagoya NMO-200C antenna (155/460Mhz). This is ideal as it gets me to GMRS (I know please do not preach), that is required for or RV friends when we move. Tuning I should be doing today with the arrival of a new SWR meter. Need to read up on tuning a dual band on this. Ideally, I would like to keep the GMRS side and tune the other down to 2M.

Seeing I go the NMO-200C for cheap, and in reading I see a lot of people not recommending the quad band antennas and duplexing the antenna, this is the route I am investigating for 6M & 10M. I see that Comet makes the CF-530C duplexer (Low Pass = 1.3-90MHz & High Pass = 125-470MHz) just for this situation.

My wish would be for the best at GMRS and 10M.

So, the questions arise:

Is this a viable recommend path (granted I would need to add a dual band 6M/10M antenna to compliment)?
Is the duplexer and two dual bands really a better alternative than a single quadband antenna?
Tuning: Should I wait until the duplexer is inline before tuning? I would assume so but turn to the experts here.
If this is viable, any thoughts on a 6M/10M dual band to compliment?
Should I just toss the idea and go back to a quadband such as the Diamond CR8900A or Comet UHV-4?

Thanks in advance!

prcguy

I don’t know of any 10m/6m dual band antennas worth mentioning but you can easily make one with a full length 1/4 wave whip on each band and an adapter that holds them a few inches apart on the same mount. Then you would need a diplexer that has roughly a 90MHz low pass/high pass split to combine in the VHF/UHF antenna.

ThisIsMeToo

Premium Subscriber
Hi PRC.