• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro 2096 usb cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

timjude

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
275
Location
In the pines where the sun never shines
ActionSeeker said:
Hello,

I have Vista and it works for me. Make sure you have the right com port picked.
I have 2 pc's with vista does not detect the cable when i plug it in to install the hardware driver but the weird thing is the cable thet comes with the psr 600 work's are these the same cables?
 

ActionSeeker

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
17
Location
Brimfield,Ohio
timjude said:
I have 2 pc's with vista does not detect the cable when i plug it in to install the hardware driver but the weird thing is the cable thet comes with the psr 600 work's are these the same cables?
Manually set the Com port to 1,2,3 or 4. If I remember my computer used 4. This is what I had to do. Also , like Alabama said "Download the newest USB driver".
 
Last edited:

n2mdk

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
2,441
Location
Ames, IA
timjude said:
I have 2 pc's with vista does not detect the cable when i plug it in to install the hardware driver but the weird thing is the cable thet comes with the psr 600 work's are these the same cables?
There should be no difference in the 2 cables, the one that came with the 600should work with the 2096. If the drivers for that cable are installed when you plug the RS cable in it's probably getting seen as the same cable. Did you check Windows Device Manager with the cable plugged in to sre if it's being recognized.
 

timjude

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
275
Location
In the pines where the sun never shines
n2mdk said:
There should be no difference in the 2 cables, the one that came with the 600should work with the 2096. If the drivers for that cable are installed when you plug the RS cable in it's probably getting seen as the same cable. Did you check Windows Device Manager with the cable plugged in to sre if it's being recognized.
Yea when i plugged it in no leds or nothing no matter what i do,recon it may be a bad cable?
I did use the cable that came with the psr 600 on the same pc and it worked fine..My friend bought this one for his 2096..It shows up as unknown device and it wont update the driver
 
Last edited:

rabidmoose57

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
151
Location
Northwest Missouri
If misery loves company....

I've gone thruogh 2 of the afore mentioned cables, and downloaded every new driver for them I could find. Not one stinking thing will work. Either the drivers won't load to the cable or vista refuses to recognise the cable. I've decided to find someone with xp on thier machine to do the job for me. After a year of battling vista, I just give up.
 

swstow

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
295
Location
Erlanger Ky
i have vista also
has same problem with cable
com setting in os of computer was off
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top