Travis County GATRRS New Scanner Advice Please

mbattles

I currently have a Uniden BCD996XT that I have not used for about 3 years. I live in Pflugerville and their PD and FD is all I really care about listening to other than maybe nearby TCSO and APD sectors. I went to use my scanner today and it was dead quiet. I am a serious novice when it comes to scanners and it took me a lot to set this scanner up once things went trunked digital. I realized that GATRRS is now Project 25 Phase II, which as far as I know my scanner does not support. I hear things about simulcast and I am not sure if that applies to what I want to listen to. If I want to buy a new scanner to be able to listen to what I want here, what do I need to look at? Is a BCD996P2 sufficient? Please reply in newbie terminology because I am not a serious scanner knowledgeable in all terms and the new technology. Thanks!

mbattles

If it worked before, it should still work with the new frequencies for Simulcast 7. Change the frequencies to Simulcast 7 from this LINK
I did try that when I saw the frequencies had changed from what I had, but I will double check things tomorrow. I thought I read somewhere that my scanner didn’t support P25 Phase 2. I surely am not looking to buy a new scanner if I don’t need to so thanks.

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber