RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #601 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 10:49 PM
03msc's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravo14 View Post
First I shut down the scanner when the scanner is powered down til I see the clock. Second I go to the Drive of the card and I right hand click and go to remove and the screen on the bottom shows it is safe to remove. And it won't go away. I use Win7. I have to shut down the computer to unplug the usb cord.
When it says it's safe to remove, it's safe to remove...period. Just unplug it and you'll be good.

[/end of getting off topic...sorry about that]
__________________
Mark | Arkansas
Radio Shack Pro-106 | Uniden HP-1 | Uniden BCD996XT | Uniden BCT15X
Thanks for being a part of the RR Community! ~~~~~ Please read through existing threads before posting!
Sponsored links
  #602 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 10:52 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravo14 View Post
First I shut down the scanner when the scanner is powered down til I see the clock. Second I go to the Drive of the card and I right hand click and go to remove and the screen on the bottom shows it is safe to remove. And it won't go away. I use Win7. I have to shut down the computer to unplug the usb cord.
The process is different with Uniden scanners. You do not turn the scanner off, in fact it must remain on otherwise the computer will not see the microSD card at all. You plug the USB cable in, upload the programming from Sentinel, then unplug the USB cable when it's done. The scanner automatically cycles power when the USB cable is removed. You don't need to do any "safe removal" or any of that nonsense, just unplug it and you're done.
  #603 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 10:58 PM
bravo14's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lower part of the NW FL area
Posts: 1,953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chauffeur6 View Post
The process is different with Uniden scanners. You do not turn the scanner off, in fact it must remain on otherwise the computer will not see the microSD card at all. You plug the USB cable in, upload the programming from Sentinel, then unplug the USB cable when it's done. The scanner automatically cycles power when the USB cable is removed. You don't need to do any "safe removal" or any of that nonsense, just unplug it and you're done.
1. Cool.

2. On the New Unidens can you control the volume up/down for each channel like the 396xt?
__________________
Dell computers SUCK! Dude you got jail you can't get a dell
Radios Alinco DJ-X10T IC-F43GT BCD396XT PSR-800 BCD536HP BCD436HP
Youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/staugfl1991
  #604 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 11:04 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravo14 View Post
1. Cool.

2. On the New Unidens can you control the volume up/down for each channel like the 396xt?
You can set a "Volume Offset" from -3 to +3 on a per channel basis in Sentinel.
  #605 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 2:01 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Default

Okay. On some scanners when you are searching different bands, you cannot change the Modulation settings. Say for instance in the CB band, the factory setting would be AM, well at least in this country it would be. But lets says you want to change that to NFM or WFM, can you do this wit the BCD436HP? Now I just picked the CB band for an example but this could apply to any band like changing WFM in the 88.7 to 107.9 band to NFM.. I was wondering if anybody knows this. Happy Thanksgiving.
Sponsored links
  #606 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 2:13 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Default

I wondering if the original post was accidentally erased. Anyways here goes again.
Can one change the factory settings in the BCD436HP when searching? Say for instance one is searching in the CB Band for example. Well as we all know this band is AM here in the States. Now say for instance that one would rather search in NFM or WFM mode can this be done with the BCD436HP? Also since some people would much rather use SSB mode when talking on 11 Meters, will this scanner decode both lower and upper side bands and what about independent side band?
Another question. Will this scanner decode AMCSSB or Amplitude Companded Sideband?
I thought that some areas of the country use this mode in the 220 band. Also what is the word on MotoTRBO and NXDN? Any word on the BCD436HP decoding these? Happy Thanksgiving.
  #607 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 3:13 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Branchport, NY
Posts: 5
Default

Why do we have to pre-order the scanner. Will they sell out on the frist production run?
  #608 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 6:54 AM
cronst10's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lake County FL
Posts: 242
Default

As to the location of the SD card in the battery compartment, is their protection for the SD card should a battery corrode ?
  #609 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 8:09 AM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,044
Default

1) You can change the demodulation method during a search.
2) You can also change the default demodulation for each band.
3) No SSB.
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
Sponsored links
  #610 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 8:47 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Cool Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by UPMan View Post
1) You can change the demodulation method during a search.
2) You can also change the default demodulation for each band.
3) No SSB.
Hello Mr. UPMan,
Thanks for answering. Appreciate it. Too bad that there is no SSB that would of had made the 11 Meter band better to listen to. Hopefully this can be accomplished through: 1. A firmware upgrade. 2. Something to incorporate into a new/future scanner. Once again thanks for answering.
  #611 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Default

I am familiar on how to set up VFolders in the PRO 106. Does the BCD436HP have something similar?
For instance I say I want to set up a folder for listening @ work and another for home. Is this possible?
  #612 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:25 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Cool Modualtion Choices And Frequency Spacing - - User Setting Question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
Hello Mr. UPMan,
Thanks for answering. Appreciate it. Too bad that there is no SSB that would of had made the 11 Meter band better to listen to. Hopefully this can be accomplished through: 1. A firmware upgrade. 2. Something to incorporate into a new/future scanner. Once again thanks for answering.
Should of asked this when I asked the previous question but can the factory default search frequency spacings be set like the user wants?

Say for instance the factory default would be 12.5 Can this be set so that the scanner can search in
6.25 Can the modulation for a specific frequency be set when entering the frequency for scanning and also the frequency spacing?
  #613 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:37 AM
Banned for duplicate accounts
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
I am familiar on how to set up VFolders in the PRO 106. Does the BCD436HP have something similar?
For instance I say I want to set up a folder for listening @ work and another for home. Is this possible?
Create a Favorite for home and one for work.
  #614 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by scantime View Post
Create a Favorite for home and one for work.
Okay. So Uniden does do something similar, right?
  #615 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:52 AM
NHdave's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southeast NH, USA
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N2VDE View Post
Why do we have to pre-order the scanner. Will they sell out on the frist production run?
No one said you had to pre-order. That's for those that want one shipped as soon as they are available.
__________________
________________________________
Pro 106, Pro 2053, BC350A, BC120xlt
Sponsored links
  #616 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:56 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Smile TDMA Vs. X2-TDMA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voyager View Post
If by "regular TDMA" you mean P25 Phase II then the answer is yes.

If you're talking about any of the several other types of TDMA, no.

Oh, and the difference between X2 and P25 Phase II? Different digital formats. (like WAV vs MP3)

Joe M.
Hi Joe,

Thanks for the answer. Yes that is correct - Phase 2. I was not aware that there are other forms of TDMA.

I thought that TDMA was just TDMA and then Ohio starts to use X2-TDMA. Well there are no talkgroups in the Database listed as X2-TDMA for Ohio as of yet but I am sure there will be in the future. Once again, thanks for the answer.
  #617 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Hi Folks,
Does anyone know if this unit has a 'Discriminator' out put ? And if not, Which U-Chip and pin to target for a tap?
I can mod and add the rest.

Thanks

Jim
  #618 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2013, 12:31 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
Hi Joe,

Thanks for the answer. Yes that is correct - Phase 2. I was not aware that there are other forms of TDMA.

I thought that TDMA was just TDMA and then Ohio starts to use X2-TDMA. Well there are no talkgroups in the Database listed as X2-TDMA for Ohio as of yet but I am sure there will be in the future. Once again, thanks for the answer.
X2-TDMA is Motorola's flavor of TDMA, a precursor to the final Phase II TDMA standard. At some point the Motorola X2-TDMA systems should be fully converted to the official P25 Phase II TDMA standard.
  #619 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2013, 2:10 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd7eir View Post
X2-TDMA is Motorola's flavor of TDMA, a precursor to the final Phase II TDMA standard. At some point the Motorola X2-TDMA systems should be fully converted to the official P25 Phase II TDMA standard.
Okay. Thanks. That I was not aware of at all. I was under the impression that they were two totally different systems. I thought that once a system was X2-TDMA that was what it was. I was not aware that this was a temporary solution. Thank you.
  #620 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2013, 3:06 AM
Fuzy_GSXR1000's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Belleville,New Jersey
Posts: 1,257
Default

Thank you UPman and Uniden!!! Looks and sounds like a amazing radio!!! I very pleased to see ANYBODY continue to make scanners.
__________________
Michael KD2CUD
Kenwood TH-F6A
GRE PSR-800
Uniden 536HP
 

Tags
bcd436hp, bcd536hp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions