996XT and ProScan

Status
Not open for further replies.

KF7ZXT

I'm not a scanner newbie, but I am a newbie to the 996XT. I think I've got the concepts of dynamic memory down (thanks to several members), but now I'm struggling to get systems/sites/and groups programmed in correctly. I've tried the following programming software:

- FreeScan - like the notes field with additional info downloaded from RadioReference, but every time I upload I get "scanner memory errors", which doesn't make sense since I'm using less than 1% of the XT memory. I don't want to break things into tiny chunks every time I upload, and it's simply not accepting some talk groups other software manages.
- ARC XT Pro - I've played with this one the least, but it's interface is just uninspiring, so didn't dive in too deep.
- ProScan (this is were I started, and what I have the most experience with). I like the interface, everything seems layed out logically. I like the virtual scanner (great for learning how to use the faceplate from my PC).

I'm not wedded to the ProScan, but the fundamental problem I'm having is with the "Quick Keys/Search Keys" tab. My issues are these:

- It doesn't seem to accept Systems (groups of sites and Group Quick keys) as a System Quick key - it seems to only accept sites (which must be set from the Systems Tab). So it seems to force me to define every group of Group Quick Keys to a single site. That seems wrong.
- I cannot figure out for the life of me how to get "Group Quick Keys" to populate on this tab, under a system, a site, or whatever.

Please help. What am I missing?

Many thanks in advance.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
One very prevalent fact - trunking on the XT scanners is done at the site, not system, level. Systems in a trunking definition is used for a logical gathering point, with some additional variables, for all sites within it.

Systems are used in conventional definitions and are scanned as such.