BCD 436HP Reset help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicholas440

Hello all,

I'm very new to the scanner world, I'm retired and have had a few old analog scanners about 30 years ago or so, and they were very easy to use. Back in the day before digital and trunking scanner use was fairly simple just punch in the frequencies from the book and listen. Things have really changed over the years and the new technology is amazing. I'm really impressed at what we can do nowdays in electronics.

I'm a ham radio operator since 1976, and have tinkered with radios for a long time. I decided since I'm retired and the weather here is cold and snowy, that I would buy a new scanner and listen to Public Safety etc, to pass the time when I'm not doing anything.

I bought the Uniden BCD 436HP hand held scanner, and I looked at some Youtube videos on how to get it going. There are a lot of good videos out there, but I think I put in all sorts of information that is not needed to do what I want to do. Basically all I want to do is listen to the police, fire, ems, and so on in my area. I like to hear whats going on as anyone who buys a scanner does.

I created a favorite and gave it a number like the video showed and the scanner is picking up transmissions, but it's also scanning areas that are of no interest to me. I am in Ohio and I wanted to just set it to scan my county and a few surrounding counties and I set the zip code and the range as the video showed on Youtube but my scanner is looking for business radio, law firms, and other things and it's silent a lot because I dont detect any activity on those areas.

What I would like to do is reset my scanner to i'ts factory settings just like it came out of the box all pre programmed and I can start over. Is there a key combination that I can reset this 436HP with?

I like the scanner a lot, and I put a Radio Shack 20-283 800 Mhz antenna on it because I also saw some videos on after market antenna comparisons..