BCD325P2/BCD996P2: bcd325p2 setup issue

scannersnstuff

Active Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
1,928
I'm trying to setup my bcd325p2 for a new Harris phase II trunk. I did everything so far. Not hearing any tg's. It is a mixed 700/800 mhz.system. Do I have to program the edit bandplan ? . I have no experience with that. Thanks for any help.
 

wtp

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6,143
Location
Port Charlotte FL
if it is scrolling "id scan" hit the function button and then the scan button to toggle to "id search" to hear everybody.
and of course, squelch set to 2.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
9,576
Location
Baltimore County, MD
The new P25 Phase 2 system is not in use yet as shown in the database:

System Notes​

16March2024: System is not fully operational and currently has limited/no voice traffic.

They are currently using the old Motorola Type II system. You could try a P25 Standard system, enter the 700 MHz site frequencies, and set system to ID Search to see if there is any traffic on the new system. There are no talkgroups listed in the database yet.
 

MrYankeeFan

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
8
Location
Hernando County, FL
The new P25 Phase 2 system is not in use yet as shown in the database:

System Notes​

16March2024: System is not fully operational and currently has limited/no voice traffic.

They are currently using the old Motorola Type II system. You could try a P25 Standard system, enter the 700 MHz site frequencies, and set system to ID Search to see if there is any traffic on the new system. There are no talkgroups listed in the database yet.
The system has been in use for a few days now. I'm listening to it now. Fire/EMS is all there. PD is still on the old system as well as the new system. I'm trying to put talk groups together, but I really am not very familiar with the process
 

RoninJoliet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
3,400
Location
ILL
Be sure you create some "groups " for the system,...When a new TG comes up press "E" and enter it in one of the groups.
 

scannersnstuff

Active Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
1,928
Here's the thing. Several people on here have said the fire-ems is on the new trunk. I hear absolutely no fire traffic on the old 800 system. Sheriff is still there. While listening to Broadcastfy,, it's the same situation. Does the edit bandplan in the scanner settings have anything to do with it ? .Yes, I'm familiar with the simulcast horror issue. The sds is not cost viable to me. I don't think that is the issue at this time. The fire had to go somewhere ? . Thank's for all the help so far. Again,the contributors/admin's make this site excellent. Proud to be a member,and help out.
 
Last edited:

wtp

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6,143
Location
Port Charlotte FL
for my 325P2 and my 396T and 396XT all gave me problems on our counties 700 simulcast system.
they al gave me 1/4 second of audio and then 1/4 second of silence.
the SDS100 has been fine since day one.
we (the wife likes to listen) bought it with points on a charge card.
i am going out right now to buy groceries on it to gets points for the 200.
talk ta ya later...
 

MrYankeeFan

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
8
Location
Hernando County, FL
Here's the thing. Several people on here have said the fire-ems is on the new trunk. I hear absolutely no fire traffic on the old 800 system. Sheriff is still there. While listening to Broadcastfy,, it's the same situation. Does the edit bandplan in the scanner settings have anything to do with it ? .Yes, I'm familiar with the simulcast horror issue. The sds is not cost viable to me. I don't think that is the issue at this time. The fire had to go somewhere ? . Thank's for all the help so far. Again,the contributors/admin's make this site excellent. Proud to be a member,and help out.
The broadcastify feed is still hooked up to an analog scanner, so it’s only getting the old 800 system. I’m assuming fairly soon that’s going to go silent. After that, I don’t know if there’s going to be a new feed. In regards to your issue, I’m assuming you’ve put all the new 700 MHz frequencies in. Is there an ID search/scan feature on your scanner ? If there is, it need to be set to ID search. Once someone developes a new CSV file you can just load that.
 

cableman7868

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
10
Location
Brooksville FL
I am having issues receiving the new system in the southern part of the county.I wonder if it is running on full power yet... Does anyone else have issues with a weak signal??
 

scannersnstuff

Active Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
1,928
I am having issues receiving the new system in the southern part of the county.I wonder if it is running on full power yet... Does anyone else have issues with a weak signal??
What scanner are you using ? . It is likely a simulcast lsm issue. I am going to reprogram my bcd325p2 and bcd436hp. Most people in the know are advocating using the Uniden sds100 or sds200,or a Unification. They are even more expensive than the Uniden's,and have limitations.However I am no Unification expert.
 
Last edited:

donc13

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,402
Location
Grand Junction, CO
I am having issues receiving the new system in the southern part of the county.I wonder if it is running on full power yet... Does anyone else have issues with a weak signal??
What county? What state? How far away from the new site?

Need to know all that.
 

cableman7868

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
10
Location
Brooksville FL
What scanner are you using ? . It is likely a simulcast lsm issue. I am going to reprogram my bcd325p2 and bcd436hp. Most people in the know are advocating using the Uniden sds100 or sds200,or a Unification. They are even more expensive than the Uniden's,and have limitations.However I am no Unification expert.
Home patrol 2

What county? What state? How far away from the new site?

Need to know all that.
Hernando County state of Florida about 10 miles away
 

donc13

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,402
Location
Grand Junction, CO
Home patrol 2


Hernando County state of Florida about 10 miles away
The Hernando County Sheriff's office is on a simulcast system, dispatch is in the clear but their tac channel is full time encrypted. No receiver/scanner will decode an encrypted channel.

I don't have an HP2 but from what others have said, the HP2 does not generally do well with Simulcast systems.

So the weak static you hear may simply be Simulcast distortion and/or the the start or end of an encrypted transmission.
 

cableman7868

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
10
Location
Brooksville FL
The Hernando County Sheriff's office is on a simulcast system, dispatch is in the clear but their tac channel is full time encrypted. No receiver/scanner will decode an encrypted channel.

I don't have an HP2 but from what others have said, the HP2 does not generally do well with Simulcast systems.

So the weak static you hear may simply be Simulcast distortion and/or the the start or end of an encrypted transmission.
Thanks that's what I am hearing as well.
 

scannersnstuff

Active Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
1,928
I have reprogrammed my bcd325p2. I am in id scan. Nothing ! . Yes I hear it on Broadcastfy. How crucial is the "edit bandplan" option. I have no experience with that. Thank you all for the help. Thank you Mryankee fan for the excellent feed.
 

wtp

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6,143
Location
Port Charlotte FL
hi, Mr. Stuff
can you (legally) take the radio for a ride.
my 325 on our 700 simulcast system does not do well at the house
1/4 second of voice then 1/4 of silence.
but when out and about, it works fine.
i have a ham license, so it is legal for me to take it out in the car.
i will send an other idea to you.
 
Top