Bearcat BC895XLT issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

25or6to4

Premium Subscriber
Greetings,
I'm new to the world of scanning and decided to purchess a used BC895XLT to received trunked frequencies . The local LE (Delaware State Police) uses Motorola Type II SmartZone. I programmed my unit with the proper frequencies , the data is set on E2 , I'm getting four bars of reception when transmissions are detected but all that comes out of the speaker when transmissions are picked up is something that sounds coded/static. What I'm I doing wrong? Thanks for your help in advance.

letarotor

Premium Subscriber
It looks like you might have a few problems. The first one is that the scanner you bought is an analog scanner and it looks like the Delaware State Police are digital. It also looks like many of their channels are digitally encrypted. I'm not from Delaware so I'm not really sure how everything is set up or operates there. But looking at RadioReference and looking at Delaware State Police in the database shows what I am talking about. It doesn't look like your scanner is capable primarily because it's not a digital scanner and it cannot decode the digital P25 signals unfortunately.

Brian (COMMSCAN)

tvengr

Well Known Member