can my scanner pick up Bell FleetNet - Ontario Provincial Government Zone 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

trancefreak99

Hey everyone.! Im just getting into this police scanner hobby. Ive already done alot of reading as I soon found out that it isnt as easy as just tuning into a frequency and hearing everything out there. Anyways There is so much to learn and its a bit overwhelming so I thought I would Try a shortcut and ask a question here,
Please forgive my newbie ignorance if this does not make any sense.

I have a police scanner and I bought a outdoor multiband antenna that ive already installed out on the tv tower. just manually scanning thru frequenies i found i have been able to catch chatter on quite a few different frequencies. Ive also looked thru the databases here to help point me in the right direction.

Now im just trying figure out if My scanner is able to pick up Bell FleetNet - Ontario Provincial Government Zone 1 (or any zone for that matter) I know its a Motorola Type II SmartZone.

Do I need a Digital Scanner to pick this up? My scanner is a Uniden Bearcat BC895XLT(not digital i believe). It has Trunk tracking and the manual states "Your BC895XLT is designed to track Motorola Type I, Type II, Type IIi, Hybrid, SMARTNET™, and
PRIVACY PLUS™ analog trunking systems*, which are extensively used in 800 MHz communication
systems. - It also states that it will error out if you try to program any frequency outside of 800mhz, but on the Custom Frequency Tables all the frequencys are in the 142.xxxMHz range (not 800)