Collins KWM-2A

Status
Not open for further replies.

wsykes41770

I recently acquired a Collins KWM-2A rig. I want to put this rig on air and use it, but as I've never used one before, I was wondering what I need to look for and/or replace before I fire this rig up for the 1st time. I would hate to power it up and start using it only to cause some problems that might have been prevented in the first place. Thanks.

Wayne

prcguy

Do you have a power supply for it? If so the power socket on these are notorious for breaking the key so make sure the multi pin plug is orientated correctly befor powering up. I would also use a variac and bring it up slowly to make sure nothing is shorted and it's kinder to the filter caps. I would also recommend downloading the manual and follow the transmit tune up procedures. Otherwise the KWM2A is a fun radio to operate.
prcguy

I recently acquired a Collins KWM-2A rig. I want to put this rig on air and use it, but as I've never used one before, I was wondering what I need to look for and/or replace before I fire this rig up for the 1st time. I would hate to power it up and start using it only to cause some problems that might have been prevented in the first place. Thanks.

Wayne

wsykes41770

Thanks. Yes, I have the original power supply along with a bunch of the accessories. It came with the phone patch box, speaker, and watt meter. It belonged to an organization that I am a member of and they were just going to throw it out. I jumped on it and took it home. They said it was working when they stopped using it years ago.

W2PMX

If it's been sitting unpowered for years, I'd first open both the rig and the power supply and clean them out. You might find insects, spider webs, dust - lots of things that can cause shorts and even fires. (Remember, this is tube equipment, so it's running on high voltages, not 12 volts.)