Computer Aided Dispatch Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueMoon2

Premium Subscriber
I am a long time firefighter and I've always wondered about something and I am wondering if anyone that knows the answer can help me out. How do chief officers and emergency planners determine who is due and how much is due to any given address? There must be software to determine closest unit to send right? How does that work?

I know that when a person calls 9-1-1, the call taker asks for the address of the emergency and the nature of the emergency and that determines a lot of who is going and how much of it is going. But all of that has to be pre-determined right? How?? I'd love to know the technical side of it.

I've heard of ARC GIS mapping and I'm thinking that might have something to do with it. Can anyone explain this to me? One of the former fire chiefs told me that the ESN (Emergency Service Number) is also involved in it?? I don't know.

fyrfyter33

Where you are talking about, has a lot to do with it.

State, county and area of the country, as well as technology in place.

Then you add in what the department thinks is necessary, local policies and capabilities as well as population demographics and community demographics.

For years we had to ask for specific units. Then our CAD did run cards. No we are upgrading the CAD to automatically determine closest fire units based on who is in/out of service.

I suggest you ask your Chief officers. One of them has to know. It varies widely depending upon where you are.

CapStar362

several agencies in Atlanta area ( Clayton, Fayette and many more ) have automatic CAD systems that knows where every unit is, whether its in service or not, call response time and if extra units are needed based on the dispatchers input.

i cannot remember who it is agency wise, but one high rate agency in the Atlanta area even has Google Traffic data and GA-DOT loaded into their CAD. and it will adjust calls based on that info.