Connecting bare wire to SMA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Right now, I have a random wire connected to my SMA feed line via gator clips. The wire is actually clipped to a whip, which has an SMA out, and that goes to the feed line. I'm wondering if it'd make any difference if I connected the wire directly to the SMA feed cable? Is there some kind of adapter that would allow me to connect a bare wire (I think it's 14 gauge or so) to a male SMA?

PDXh0b0

Premium Subscriber
i remember that day...I cut 8in off the end of a short coaxial cable soldered 6in of wire to the center conductor and one to the shield, soldered alligator clips to the end of the wires, the used an f type female to sma female on the other end.

then I bought a couple nooelec 9:1's

article on uses

and, get lots of various sma adapters

Thanks! The nooelec 9:1 looks like it could work. Do I really need a balun when using a random wire antenna, though? I'm new to all this stuff.

Dirk_SDR

Yes, the long wire is better adapted to your receiver input with a 9:1 balun/unun.
But if I want to solder wires directly to SMA I use th like this:
... or like this:

Cool, I just got the one PDX mentioned above (nooelec). Is anyone familiar with this one? Some of the reviews says it's actually a BALUN and I'd need an UNUN. I guess one of the parts of the circuit can be cut to make it into an UNUN?

Dirk_SDR

The "Nooelec Balun 9:1 v2" really is an Unun, that transforms the high impedance (several 100 Ohm) of an end fed long wire antenna down to a low impedance input (50 Ohm coaxial SMA) of a receiver.
Both, antenna and receiver input, are UNbalanced, therefore the name UnUn for that HF transfomer.
If you cut R1 on the PCB, then the middle of the primary winding of the transformer is not grounded any more. Then you get a BalUn (= transformer Balanced to Unbalanced).