Ctsp

Status
Not open for further replies.

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
there seem to be many repeats of ctsp mot2 and even connecticut state police systems, do i need to load all the ctsp systems or just one? thanks guys!!
 

w1kne

Not a politician
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
569
Location
Taunton, MA
What make/model of scanner do you have?
You only need to enter the prime sites you're interesting in monitoring and the associated talkgroups.
 

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
well under each county there is a mot2 for CTSP do i need to enter one for each county? seems to me they are all the same. i nave bcd996xt
 

scanningisfun

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
679
well under each county there is a mot2 for CTSP do i need to enter one for each county? seems to me they are all the same. i nave bcd996xt
All of the sites listed make up the CSP system. Make a motorola system in your 996 and enter each site and give them different quick keys. For CSP, I use quick keys 85-99 + 80 and 90.
 

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
Thanks for the reply. I'm confused tho, because the info listed for ctsp is all the same under each county. Its the exact same groups n channels
 

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
Do u have a file I could upload or look at. I thought I was all set but now o guess not lol. So much learning w these things haha
 

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
yea just double checked again. everything for state police is exactly the same under each county. the mot2 systems all contain the same info, so am i missing something here,? maybe im just stupid, which is def possible lol
 

scanningisfun

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
679
yea just double checked again. everything for state police is exactly the same under each county. the mot2 systems all contain the same info, so am i missing something here,? maybe im just stupid, which is def possible lol
Connecticut State Police is under every county because it is a statewide system. If you look at the site names, you will see things like "Troop H/W Simulcast" or "Troop C/K Simulcast". You need to program all of those sites into a Motorola System under different quick keys. There are different 'Troops' that make up CSP. Use this map to help you see which troop covers your area so you will know which site to monitor.

-I will make a video to help you understand.

-Motorola Type II Smartzone Help: http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/Motorola_Type_II_SmartZone

-Here is the 996XT Easier to Read Manual: Easier to Read BCD996XT Digital Scanner Manual
 

Attachments

Last edited:

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
thank u so much for that!!! i already have those loaded into my scanner under mot2 ctsp. so what ur saying is i need to have 8 mot 2 systems? because the ctsp mot2 is under every county. i currently have one mot2 system with a few different groups and all the m82c stuff. I feel like what ur saying is to add ctsp mot2 from every county. right now its the one mot2 system and i have most of the police on quick key 7 but some is on a different quick key for my area.

i have every troop programmed into my mot2 system, as i was aware of the different troops in the state. when just messin around i listen to all the ctsp but when i got to work, i travel 84 east near waterbury, so i just leave on the local towns around there and the ctsp troops A and I. thats how i should be doing it right? thanks
 
Last edited:

scanningisfun

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
679
thank u so much for that!!! i already have those loaded into my scanner under mot2 ctsp. so what ur saying is i need to have 8 mot 2 systems? because the ctsp mot2 is under every county. i currently have one mot2 system with a few different groups and all the m82c stuff. I feel like what ur saying is to add ctsp mot2 from every county. right now its the one mot2 system and i have most of the police on quick key 7 but some is on a different quick key for my area
You only need one system. Do not think of the different sites as different systems.
 

chaz517

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
24
ok, one system, so then I think I have it set up the way it should be. it has all the different troops a,i,h,w,g,b, and so on and so on. and also the canaan groups and bridegport, and danielson and groton and the lake waramaug one and the mountain ones.
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,079
Location
Connecticut
There is no one correct way to program it.
If you are just starting out, I would suggest using one System and multiple Sites within that System. Then assign different Quick Keys to each Site so you can control what tower you are hearing. After you program the TGIDs, assign each one to one of the ten Group Quick Keys to further control what you hear.
A problem with having every troop turned on is they get very busy when bad weather hits and you can go minutes without leaving the CSP system. Thats fine if they are your main listening goal but if you have other stuff you like to hear, it can be overwhelming.
Experiment with different setups. You will then learn what you like and what you don't.

chris
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top