Digital listening

Status
Not open for further replies.

uneek156

Premium Subscriber
Hello, I have multiple digital scanners and have had an issue picking up our local state patrol since yesterday. What I have been told by our local PIO is that they did some work on towers yesterday to stop some traffic bleeding over. I no longer can pick most of the dispatches and if I do they are unreadable. Does anyone have any idea what might have happened and how to resolve it on my end? This is happening on both brands of digital scanners that I have. I have to add that I have limited knowledge of how this all works. It's a miracle I even was able to program these scanners in the first place. I appreciate any help I can get.

danesgs

You did not say what sort of antenna setup you have. Am guessing a directional yagi pointed in the direction of the nearest tower will solve your problem.

uneek156

Premium Subscriber
You did not say what sort of antenna setup you have. Am guessing a directional yagi pointed in the direction of the nearest tower will solve your problem.
I don't know much about antennas but it is just a magnetic antenna that I have used for a few years now. Up until yesterday I had no problems. I'm wondering if there is something in the setting of the frequency that I need to adjust.

danesgs

Unless they changed something on the transmitting end, no. I think you need an outside antenna at best, or check the one you have for shorts, wet coax etc. Use the wx channel for a test. Is it still strong on the current setup? etc.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
If they are now using directional antennas to 'point' the energy and isolate the areas they don't want to cover, then you must do the same. This is not uncommon - several systems are now doing this.

You just may be no longer in range of a tower or towers that used to cover your area. A crude analogy would be a flashlight in a darkened room

Mike

uneek156

Premium Subscriber