Erie county sds200 do I need to add DMR, NXDN or Provoice ~ newbie

Jhagelberger

So I am purchased a sds200 and live on the Erie and Niagara county border. I am hoping someone could tell me if I need to upgrade to DMR, NXDN or provoice to preliminary listen to fire and police in these respective counties? I would love to hear other counties such as Genesee or Wyoming as well. I hope I don’t get blasted here with go to radio reference because that site I find confusing. I will eventually learn RR but would like to know if I need any of those upgrades as I will be programming with Sentinel and just want to get up and running. I am studying Marks guide as we speak. If I need to add any what am I adding them for…I.e add DMR to listen to “x”. Thanks.

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
For starters, this system spans a few counties and is DMR. If you want to listen to anything on this alone, you would need Dmr upgrade.

SaiaNet Trunking System, Various, New York

Have a look in the db at those counties you mention. Click in the trunked systems, as well as any schools/hospital/business/local police/fire you may want to listen to and look for the digital indicators listed on the page if any..

sallen07

Premium Subscriber
So I am purchased a sds200 and live on the Erie and Niagara county border. I am hoping someone could tell me if I need to upgrade to DMR, NXDN or provoice to preliminary listen to fire and police in these respective counties? I would love to hear other counties such as Genesee or Wyoming as well. I hope I don’t get blasted here with go to radio reference because that site I find confusing. I will eventually learn RR but would like to know if I need any of those upgrades as I will be programming with Sentinel and just want to get up and running. I am studying Marks guide as we speak. If I need to add any what am I adding them for…I.e add DMR to listen to “x”. Thanks.