• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Firmware Upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

RadioKid604

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
39
Location
Vancouver, BC
Trying to upgrade the firmware on my DM3401, but am having an issue. The current version is R01.01.00, and I am trying to update to R01.12.17. I have already installed the update to my computer. I get to the update screen in CPS, but cannot see the desired firmware on the drop down menu to upgrade. It has nothing to click. What is wrong here?
Thanks!
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,442
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Ignoring the fact that it's an Euro radio, people who have upgraded the NA version from such a low FW version have stated it can't be done in 1 jump. They had to first upgrade to 1.06, & from there to 1.12.17.
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,034
Location
Ontario, Canada
I helped a fellow member do his a few days ago, and he went straight from 1.00.02 to 1.12.17 with zero difficulty,

I'm sure the OPs issue is a region conflict... trying to load NA firmware with EMEA CPS.
 

RadioKid604

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
39
Location
Vancouver, BC
The radio reads and writes fine with the emea cps that I have. I'm not sure if the firmware I have is emea or not, it's just what came with cps so I'd assume it would work. How could I try it with North American firmware?
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,448
Location
Midlothian, VA
I don't have access to EMEA FW (it used to be hosted on another forum that no longer exists), only NA FW and while looking at them, their file names end with NA (before .exe). Check to see if it's for the correct region.

ETA: I believe the only way to get different region FW in to it would involve using software that's not allowed to be discussed here (Motorola proprietary) which would then require you to change the model number (and thus the region) followed by subsequently using NA CPS. I wouldn't bother.
 

RadioKid604

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
39
Location
Vancouver, BC
I don't think it says NA in the title, I will check again when I get home later. Would it work to try NA firmware on it as it stands now?
 

RadioKid604

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
39
Location
Vancouver, BC
Checked the files, they don't have an NA at the end. The folder is actually labeled "EMEA FW". The file I'm installing is called "MOTOTRBO_R011217_130203_DM3xxx.exe"
Would it work if I just tried installing NA firmware on emea cps as it stands now?
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,442
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Checked the files, they don't have an NA at the end. The folder is actually labeled "EMEA FW". The file I'm installing is called "MOTOTRBO_R011217_130203_DM3xxx.exe"
Would it work if I just tried installing NA firmware on emea cps as it stands now?
Strange, as RO1.12.17 is the newest, & last FW upgrade for the Gen 1 radios.
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,034
Location
Ontario, Canada
Checked the files, they don't have an NA at the end. The folder is actually labeled "EMEA FW". The file I'm installing is called "MOTOTRBO_R011217_130203_DM3xxx.exe"
Would it work if I just tried installing NA firmware on emea cps as it stands now?
No, it won't work. The EMEA CPS won't let you load NA firmware.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top