• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

G4 Voice Buffering

Status
Not open for further replies.

Radiobern

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
152
Location
San Leandro, CA
I work as a police dispatcher and have used my G4 to record while I dispatch on the radio. I have noticed that the G4 is missing some of my transmissions, but not very often. There is no RF at work as when I transmit via the console, it is all sent via microwave. So that rules out any RF overload or interference, signal meter is always full. I was wondering if the voice buffering option was causing any issues or causing the G4 to miss transmissions. Anyone have any experience with it on or off? It is enabled by default but I have started to test it with it disabled now. Just curious if anyone else has noticed any difference with it on or off.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,912
Location
Southeastern Michigan
I work as a police dispatcher and have used my G4 to record while I dispatch on the radio. I have noticed that the G4 is missing some of my transmissions, but not very often. There is no RF at work as when I transmit via the console, it is all sent via microwave. So that rules out any RF overload or interference, signal meter is always full. I was wondering if the voice buffering option was causing any issues or causing the G4 to miss transmissions. Anyone have any experience with it on or off? It is enabled by default but I have started to test it with it disabled now. Just curious if anyone else has noticed any difference with it on or off.
How many towers and talkgroups are you monitoring? The talkgroup list is in scanned in priority order, meaning that if you are listening to the #3 on your list, and one of the two above it keys up, the G4 will tune to the higher listed talkgroup.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

cpetraglia

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Fairfax, VA
So your saying that even though priority is un-checked in the group/zone setting, that it doesn't make any difference? I thought that was addressed in a prior FW release. I think the OP may be describing the loss at the beginning of a transmission. I have noticed that since I got my G4. It's only a second or less, but still a loss.
 

Radiobern

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
152
Location
San Leandro, CA
I am only monitoring one site and one talkgroup at a time. For example, if I was dispatching on "Patrol 3", I am only monitoring the Patrol 3 talkgroup on the primary site we are known to use. Nothing is being scanned yet it still misses a transmission here and there.

For example, I had to do a crime broadcast for a robbery. Since it was a lengthy broadcast, I usually un-key in the middle in case there is emergency traffic. The G4 will catch the second half of my broadcast and miss the first half.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,297
Location
So Cali
Some radio operators, dispatchers, are not aware of the 'key-up delay' in systems like yours.
 

phirephoto

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
332
Location
Fremont, CA
I work as a police dispatcher and have used my G4 to record while I dispatch on the radio. I have noticed that the G4 is missing some of my transmissions, but not very often. There is no RF at work as when I transmit via the console, it is all sent via microwave. So that rules out any RF overload or interference, signal meter is always full. I was wondering if the voice buffering option was causing any issues or causing the G4 to miss transmissions. Anyone have any experience with it on or off? It is enabled by default but I have started to test it with it disabled now. Just curious if anyone else has noticed any difference with it on or off.
Hey if you want to shoot me a PM.. I can add you to IM (F/B or other real time IM) and next time you're on I can try monitoring with my G5, a BCD536 and Unity XG-100P and see if I'm seeing the same thing..
 

Radiobern

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
152
Location
San Leandro, CA
Are you on a Harris system by chance?

Sent from my P008 using Tapatalk
No, I am using a Motorola Phase I system. This one to be exact: East Bay Regional Communications System (EBRCS) Trunking System, Multiple, California - Scanner Frequencies.

I have read on other threads that others are missing some transmissions too. Something about the G4/5 missing the channel grant, thus missing a transmission.

We dispatch on the radio for 2 hour periods and from what I noticed, my G4 may have missed just 2-3 transmissions during that time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top