Golden Gate Bridge Highway and Transportation District - How to Listen?

jamie4finch

Hi there! I'm still pretty new to scanning, and this is my first post on the forum. Apologies if I ask dumb questions!

I'm wondering if anyone has had any luck with listening to the Golden Gate Bridge Highway and Transportation District?

For reference, I have an SDS100. I live in SF, at low elevation. Tonight, I went to Corona Heights Park and Buena Vista Park to see if greater elevation would help. No dice. In fact, I couldn't pick up hardly anything. At low elevation in the Mission, I can at least pick up the SF County/City P25. I thought additional elevation would always be beneficial, though it didn't appear to be the case.

I had previously been to Twin Peaks with my old Pro-106, and I could actually hear some static coming through in a pattern that suggested it was voice (though I obviously couldn't make anything of it due to the simulcast distortion). I'm wondering if perhaps I'd have better luck at Twin Peaks, now that I have a scanner capable of handling simulcast?

Any help/guidance/info would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

scannerboy02

Premium Subscriber
It has been about a year since I have monitored this system but when I did I was picking it up from Sacramento so I would guess you should be able to get it from just about anywhere in the San Francisco area. It's possible simulcast could be an issue but I would still think you should get something.

My only suggestions would be to check and see that the system is programmed correctly or it's possible they have made changes to the system that are not reflected in the database.

You could try searching the 700 MHz band to see if you can find the control channel that way, it's possible that it could be on a 'new' frequency. The nice thing about P25 systems is you only need the control channel to be able to monitor the system so if you find it you should be good.

jamie4finch