• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Baofeng GPS on changes date and time

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
I have a btech 6x2 with the latest firmware. I have noticed that when I leave the GPS off, the clock stays on time. When I turn it on, then the clock runs up 11 hrs. Current time and date is March 18 6:56 pm. Radio shows March 19 5:56 am. If I manually change it back, it reverts right back to the wrong time. I'm trying to work on using the aprs, so it would be nice to figure that out
 

n5ims

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,723
I suspect that you haven't set the GPS Time Zone field correctly. Below is from page 16 of the manual (https://baofengtech.com/pdf/DMR-6X2_Programming_Guide_Current.pdf).

GPS Ranging

GPS - Set On or Off (can also be changed under Menu)
Get GPS Positioning - Select Off or On to allow other radio to check this radio
Time Zone - Set the GMT time zone for the radio
Ranging Interval - Select from 5 to 255 sec for checking received GPS position
Ranging Display - Select Meters or Feet
GPS Template Info - Select Off or On to define the format of the GPS display
GPS Template (text) - GPS message to be part of the GPS TX data
I'm not sure but generally these settings are an offset from GMT (aka UTC). For CDT that would typically be -5. Be aware that you'll have to manually change the offset to adjust for daylight savings time or just live with it being an hour off.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Oh yeah, forgot to mention I already tried that. I set it to off but the problem still persists. I don't understand why the GPS would set the time/date 11 hours off. But like I said even turning the GPS time check to off still gives the same results. Starting to wish I would have just got the anytone. I messaged btech with an issue a day or two after I got it and service was basically as short of reply as possible and not very helpful. Also have I guess firmware issues. When hitting the programmed button for vfo, it turns the digital monitor on and off at times instead. Like I said customer service wasn't my best experience.
 

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,147
Location
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
Starting to wish I would have just got the anytone.
For all intents and purposes, the BTech 6x2 is an Anytone with slightly different firmware.
When hitting the programmed button for vfo, it turns the digital monitor on and off at times instead.
Each of the programmable button's actual functions (short push / long push) can be changed in the "Optional Setting" section of the CPS (at least they can in the AnyTone CPS).
I don't understand why the GPS would set the time/date 11 hours off.
The GPS system uses UTC/GMT/ZULU time. You probably need to change the Time Zone offset in your radio Menu or CPS settings.

These are complex and very configurable radios. Assuming that the BTech software is similar to the AnyTone software, there are numerous settings that could prevent proper or desired operation when misconfigured. There are lots of videos and tutorials that can be found online.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Yeah I knew it was the same radio but different firmware. My comment was about the customer service and the firmware problems. Also, I know the proammable
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Wow didnt realize my last post didn't send right. My phone had a brain squeeze while I was posting and didn't get to see it. To start where I left off in the last post, I know the buttons are programmable. As I said, I have p2 short press programmed for mem/vfo and pf3 (the orange button) is for digital monitor. When I hit p2 for vfo, it turns on digital monitor, and takes several presses to get vfo. I also know about the time zones. Nothing works.

Here's a question. More of a thought.
Could I hit the 6x2 with the latest firmware for the 878 and see if my problems go away? I know I'll lose some of the features that are 6x2 specific, but I don't think it would be that big of a deal to me. Of course if I can change to 878 firmware, I should be able to go back to the btech firmware whe the bugs are gone. I initially had the proem of constant lock ups that would mean having to reprogram with software everytime. That stopped for a while, but it's seems to be slowing creeping its way back. Locked up twice today, but battery removal fixed it both times.
 

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,147
Location
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
Two questions and a comment:

Have you ever done a complete reset on the 6x2? On the AnyTones, a full radio reset is highly recommended after every FW upgrade in order to clear out any errant bits or bytes.

Be aware that the AnyTone 878 recently had a "base-band update" included as part of a recent FW upgrade, and the base-band update was said to be essential for continued proper operation. Has the BTech 6x2 had anything similar?

Also for the AnyTone, the firmware and CPS version numbers need to match. Not sure if the 6x2 is the same.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Yes I did the reset after the firmware update. Haven't seen anything about a baseband update. I dig through the software later today and see if it's there.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
359
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
So I haven't seen anything about the base band update, but I have noticed the locking up coincides with signal strength. If m listening to a digital signal and lose the signal while the talk group is active, it locks the radio up. I'll try to post a pic of the display next time it does it. Has anyone else had that issue, anytone or btech? It seems odd that lost signal causes it to lock up. When it happens I have to remove the battery for a few seconds. Turning the power off does nothing. Screen stays on till I remove the battery.
 
Top