• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Headphone Jack

Status
Not open for further replies.

radio3353

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
1,350
Does the G4 have a headphone jack? If so, is it stereo or mono. I can't tell from any pictures and I don't see any mention in the specs about a headphone jack. Or, is BT the only way to have an earphone? Thanks.
 

ecarvalho

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 23, 2005
Messages
757
The only way to plug an audio jack on a G4/5 is if you buy the base charger/amplifier which does have an audio out jack.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,736
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Does the G4 have a headphone jack? If so, is it stereo or mono. I can't tell from any pictures and I don't see any mention in the specs about a headphone jack. Or, is BT the only way to have an earphone? Thanks.
If you go the BT route, check the other threads here, with details on how the BT has some eccentricities.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

radio3353

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
1,350
I should have mentioned, I wear hearing aids. That is why I am interested in a headphone jack. BT devices all seem to be in-ear.
Any suggestions for someone in my situation would be appreciated. Thanks.
 

etihparg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2002
Messages
85
Location
Gilbert, Arizona
Has anyone taken the pager apart and installed a headphone jack? I'm thinking about it, but most likely void the warranty.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,736
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Has anyone taken the pager apart and installed a headphone jack? I'm thinking about it, but most likely void the warranty.
It will certainly void your warranty, as well as negate any water resistance ratings.

My guess: there is no reasonable place to install a jack.

Sent using Tapatalk
 

lsh1885

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Messages
353
Location
Orlando, Florida
I bought the amplifier specifically for the audio jack as I wanted to use a recorder with the G4. The audio quality was so much better than the Bluetooth it wasn't even comparable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top