Help a newbie with his first antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taphorn

Hello!

I've been into simple hobby RF for a while, but I'm just recently getting into antenna design. I got into RF stuff when I bought my first SDR receiver (those cheap rtl-sdr USB dongles on ebay). They work from 24 MHz to about 1,7 GHz. I own some better SDR devices today, but I've mostly worked in the VHF/UHF regions. Anyway I decided to build my own antenna. Since I'm already working on a RaspberryPi project to transmit sensor data over the 433,92 MHz ISM band, I'd like to build an antenna for that frequency. I originally wanted to build a dipole, but I've been told to rather focus on a more convenient HB9CV antenna. It's basically made of small soldered brass tubes of certain lengths. I've already built the metal part by consulting the online HB9CV calculator (with some tweaks), but I have yet to tune it - a thing I've never done before.

Here's what I came up with:
33u3ayg.jpg

I've read some online docs, and I'm gonna share what I've learnt just to verify I'm on the right track. The docs usually state you have to minimize a parameter called VSWR. Afaik this parameter tells you how well an antenna is matched with other components regarding their impedance. Anything below a ratio of 1:2 would indicate a good match while anything above 1:6 likely means a bad match. However most don't say how to change the VSWR or adjust the antenna impedance to match 50 Ohm. Some suggest to add an appropriate matching balun instead, but I'm not sure that's what I want here.