help with scanner selection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronnierozier2

Premium Subscriber
I am new to scanning and have zero knowledge of what is required to listen to these new departments digital frequencies. The last time i had my hands on a scanner was 20 years ago with a 100.00 bearcat analog scanner. What im wanting to do is listen to the frequencies listed below and whatever else is in my area. What im requesting is someone post 3-4 handheld scanners that will work with what im trying to do. The only scanner im currently looking at is the Uniden HomePatrol II. I just found it by looking on amazon, I'm not even sure if it will work. Thats why im reaching out to you guys to get some remomendations on what handheld scanner I need.

Thanks in advance on those that are willing to help me find a scanner to suite my needs. I just want to sit on my front porch and listen to the police,fire,sheriff,and whatever else I can pickup in my area....Leflore County Mississippi

1652792024177.png

fredva

Feed Provider
There are a number of talkgroups (channels) on the statewide digital trunking system for your county, so I'd suspect that is where a lot of the action is. The screen shots you have are of legacy frequencies, some of which may be still used in parallel with the statewide system, or might not be used anymore. Probably any P25 Phase II scanner will meet your needs. You don't have digital simulcast in your area, so you do not need the more expensive SDS series of scanners, although one of those would do the job.

Options for you would include the Uniden BCD325P2, Uniden BCD436HP, and the Whistler TRX-1, in addition to the HomePatrol2. Do not get a Whistler WS-1040, because that model only handles P25 Phase I, and you need Phase II to monitor the statewide system.

Last edited:

EMwaves54

I was in the same boat recently.
Bluetail P25rx-II. It does everyone I could ever want and the support is awesome. Its truly an awesome unit.

Reconrider