How to listen to Oklahoma Police from a handheld scanner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redneck425

I am new to this radio thing, I have a UV-5R and have played with that for awhile but i am interested in how I can listen to the Oklahoma City Police Department dispatch channels on a handheld radio. I know the UV-5R cannot do this but what is a radio that would allow me to listen? I think they use p25 but im not sure. I am wanting to be able to listen to SanteFe\SouthWest\SpringLake divisions. Is this possible to do and how would I go about this?

Ensnared

Premium Subscriber
Some folks listen via SDR using dongles. Otherwise, you will need to purchase a radio capable of receiving EDACS ProVoice. However, OKC has already started migrating to their new Phase II radio system. If you want to hear Phase II, there are several radios that monitor such; however, with the exception of the dongle setup or a professional grade radio capable of trunking, Uniden is the only radio that picks up EDACS. Like I said, time is limited on their EDACS. I own a 436HP with DMR, NXDN, and ProVoice upgraded.

Redneck425

So when OKCPD switches to the Phase II radio will it still be the few Uniden radios that can work with that? Or will it open up to alot more radios?

Hit_Factor

Sounds like you did some research and learned a few things between your two post. If you have questions could you restate anything unanswered or new.

When they go to phase 2 there will be less options. Uniden SDS 100 or 200 are the latest tech and likely to have the longest service life.

Have you looked into the Database here on RR? It sounds like you might have.

Last edited:

Ensnared

Premium Subscriber