Yaesu: How to receive analog signal on Yaesu FT5D radio sent from Anytone AT-d878uv ii Plus radio and vice versa

khedin

Hi,

I'm new to ham radio. I'm transmitting analog NFM audio signal from Yaesu FT5D and I'm trying to receive it on Anytone AT-d878uv ii Plus on the same frequency.
But I only hear the noise, not voice. Voice transmission in the opposite direction from Anytone to Yaesu also does not work - only noise becomes audible, the voice is not audible. Both radio have the same frequencies, FM band.

Moreover, when receiving data on the RTL SDR through the SDR# program, I see a signal burst at this frequency in the NFM band, but I also do not hear the voice itself.

I managed to hear the voice only using the SDRangel program. At the same time, in this program, I hear the voice transmitted from Yaesu and transmitted from Anytone. But I need to hear the voice on the radios themselves, so that when transmitting from Yaesu, you can hear the voice on Anytone and vice versa, when transmitting from Anytone, you can hear the voice from Yaesu.

It looks like some additional transmit and receive characteristics need to be adjusted in the analog signal so that they are the same. Someone can help? What characteristics should be set in both devices in order for voice over radio to work?

Best regards, Michael.

a417

Are you doing this in the same room? Are the radios within feet of each other?

K4EET

Chaplain
Hello @khedin and welcome to Radio Reference.

From your brief description, it sounds as if you are transmitting a digital signal (C4FM) but your receive is simply analog (FM). I believe what you want to do is transmit and receive in simple analog mode. I suspect you just need to change your transmit modulation to analog (FM) on both radios.

If you would post your code plug files for each radio, we could easily and better tell you what is going on.