Icom: IC-756 Pro III Question!

N1SQB

Premium Subscriber
I have been out of the HF Ham realm for a few years, focusing on everything above 50. MHz. I wasn’t looking to get back into HF but I saw an ICOM IC-756 Pro III ( radio I always wanted ) that made me think about getting back in. My question is, for basic reception of the HF band and some utility monitoring etc.. is this rig still worth getting? Although I’m an Amateur Extra,
I will never be a contest person or rag chew like some other hams. An occasional qso here n there but that’s it. It may seem like overkill but it’s a radio I always wanted but could never afford at the original price.
I looked at the IC-7300 but it seems like it has a lot of sub function’s whereas the pro III has a lot of adjustments right in the front face. I welcome comments from those who may know this radio far better than me.

Thanks.

Manny

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
As background, the first HF radio that I used extensively was an Icom IC-746Pro (about the same era as the IC-756ProIII). I wanted to upgrade and was seriously considering a 756ProIII, but was concerned about the prices on the used market. A friend suggested I consider the IC-7600. I bought one but found that it was not a stellar performer even though it had a better display than the 756ProIII. When the IC-7610 was announced, I waited about a year for the bugs and issues to shake out before buying one. I am very happy with the 7610. Somewhere along the way, I bought an IC-7300 as a backup/portable radio.

The IC-756ProIII was discontinued in 2009. That's 14 years ago. The IC-7300 is still in production. The 756ProIII may have features and performance geared towards contesting and DXing that the 7300 doesn't have. But, you seem to be more of a casual operator. In that case, I'd buy a new 7300 over a used 756ProIII any day of the week.

N1SQB

Premium Subscriber