Mahwah NJ Police Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

mahwahcitizen

Hello all!

I am by no means an expert in any of this kind of stuff.

I wanted to post on here because I do not see a police scanner for Mahwah PD anywhere. I've used Broadcastify and a few different apps but I don't see PD anywhere. All I see is EMS and Fire Dispatch.

Does anyone know why this is?

Thank you!

NParkNJ

On the Road
Premium Subscriber
No one has a feed for them is what it means. If you want to listen to them/or host them you’ll need a P25 Phase 1 capable scanner.

NC1

There's probably no feed because a lot of hosts dropped the PD feeds due to many "not so upstanding" people using it for nefarious purposes. Unfortunately, the few have ruined it for the many, but now we just buy scanners to listen in at home.

mahwahcitizen

Gotcha. You can use scanners anywhere though, right? Not in the sense as like law I just mean by it actually working away from home.

Can someone recommend the cheapest scanner to listen in to Mahwah feeds? I don't need anything fancy, just something that works.

tvengr

Well Known Member
The Bergen County system is Phase 2 capable. If the talkgroups change to Phase 2, you will be out of luck with a Phase 1 scanner. Also, all 3 sites are simulcast. Depending on your location, you may have problems receiving the system unless you use a Uniden SDS100 handheld or SDS200 base/mobile scanner. The SDS100 and SDS200 are the only scanners designed to receive simulcast systems.

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
The Bergen County system is Phase 2 capable. If the talkgroups change to Phase 2, you will be out of luck with a Phase 1 scanner. Also, all 3 sites are simulcast. Depending on your location, you may have problems receiving the system unless you use a Uniden SDS100 handheld or SDS200 base/mobile scanner. The SDS100 and SDS200 are the only scanners designed to receive simulcast systems.