MOTOTRBO database?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
OK look at the Dutchess county airport article - I added the DMR warning template so that it's consistent with the Trbosys template for trunked systems.

Mike
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
Since there seems to be some pages that have more than 1 system on it, it's a little sloppy to have the warning repeated over and over again. I took it out of the template, but will add it manually. That way it shows up only once...Mike
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,921
Since there seems to be some pages that have more than 1 system on it, it's a little sloppy to have the warning repeated over and over again. I took it out of the template, but will add it manually. That way it shows up only once...Mike

I just did a quick test on the following and it works.

If you want to give Template:Table_Trboconventional the capability to either show or not show the Tracker_DMR message, you can do the following:

In Template:Table_Trboconventional put this:
Code:
[b][color=red]{{{HideTrackerDMR|[/color][/b]{{Tracker_DMR}}[b][color=red]}}}[/color][/b]

In the Article with multiple tables put this for the first table:
Code:
{{Table_Trboconventional | ...other parameters and values}}

...and put this for the second table and any additional tables:
Code:
{{Table_Trboconventional | [b][color=red]HideTrackerDMR=|[/color][/b] ...other parameters and values }}
(Notice, there's no space between the red equal sign and the vertical bar that follows it. This way no value is passed to the parameter "HideTrackerDMR", instead of passing a space; but since the parameter was named in the template-call, the default-value (Tracker_DMR) is hidden.)​


What this does is make Table_Trboconventional default to showing the Tracker_DMR message, but let's you choose to hide the Tracker_DMR message if Table_Trboconventional is used more than once in a single article.

Hope this helps,
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
That's a neat trick I'm going to have to document once I've got this template fully implemented.

Thanks..Mike
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,921
In Template:Table_Trboconventional, between the TrackerDMR and the top border of the table are two blank rows. If you want to hide those two rows at the same time the TrackerDMR is hidden, you could make the blank rows be part of the default-value; by changing from this
Code:
{{{HideTrackerDMR|{{Tracker_DMR}}}[color=red][b]}}[/b][/color]


{|class=rrtable
...
to this
Code:
{{{HideTrackerDMR|{{Tracker_DMR}}}


[color=red][b]}}[/b][/color]{|class=rrtable
...
This makes those two blank rows part of the default value so that they do not push the second table farther down the page than necessary, when the TrackerDMR is hidden. ...just a thought.

Hope this helps,
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
Just as easy to put in 2 blank lines. For those that have more than 1 site, I'd like a little space between the 2 for readability, as well as a chance for someone to add a new section underneath it if needed

Mike
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,921
One thing I noticed is that in Template:Table_TrboConventional, it currently has the following categories:
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}}]]
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} Frequencies]]
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} MOTOTRBO Information]]
To be consistent with all of the other Wiki pages, it should only have the last two, like this...
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} Frequencies]]
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} MOTOTRBO Information]]
...because only primary county pages have the [[Category:{{{StateName}}}]] applied to them.


Removing [[Category:{{{StateName}}}]] from Template:Table_Trboconventional would also make it consistent with the categories in Template:Table_Trbosys, which are:
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} Trunking Information]]
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} Frequencies]]
  • [[Category:{{{StateName}}} MOTOTRBO Information]]

Hope this helps and thanks,
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
Done...and I've also drafted up some documentation for the new template.

Feel free to reformat it the way you want...Mike
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,921
If an article has multiple "Template:Trboconventional" tables, and you want the page-layout to show the tables side-by-side, instead of vertically-stacked, one way to do that would be to use a borderless outer-table in which the data-tables would be displayed.

The borderless outer table can be created manually in the article, or the template can be adjusted to optionally allow (but not require) the outer-table parameters to be passed into the template and the template handle the logic. (The current "Template:Trboconventional" would need some adjustment for either of the above methods.)

One way of adjusting the template code to make it allow for an outer table, can be seen in Template:ForTestingOnly (18-Nov-2015). Additional parameters: "OuterTableStart", "OuterTableCol2", "OuterTableCol3", "OuterTableEnd". It can be used for 1-col or 2-cols or 3-cols format.

An example of how that code would display can be seen in User:QDP2012/28 (18-Nov-2015).

If you think the above idea might be useful, I would be willing to help update the "/doc" file for the outer-table logic.

If you think it is more likely that most individual tables will contain enough data that it would prohibit a side-by-side layout on the page, then it probably would not be worth making the change to the template to make it handle the outer-table logic.

Just a thought. No problem here, either way.

Hope this helps,
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
25,786
Location
Bowie, Md.
Visually that would be appealing, but there is the other question of folks using a utility (similar to FreeScan's EZ Grab) to copy the data from the table into an app like DSD. Multiple tables on the same set of lines might give the utility fits.

Even if you used Excel, you would potentially grab more than one table at a time unless you limit your columns that you copy. I can see newcomers having problems with that.

Another issue would show up if there is only 1 table's worth of data. You would need to add more code to make the other table(s) invisible in such a case, otherwise it would look sloppy as hxxx. I'd rather leave the template in a KISS mode - remember not everyone gets this deep into the functionality.

Mike
 
Last edited:

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,921
Visually that would be appealing, but there is the other question of folks using a utility (similar to FreeScan's EZ Grab) to copy the data from the table into an app like DSD. Multiple tables on the same set of lines might give the utility fits.

Even if you used Excel, you would potentially grab more than one table at a time unless you limit your columns that you copy. I can see newcomers having problems with that.

I'm not familiar with FreeScan's EZ Grab. But, when I use the highlight-copy method on the example page linked in the above post, the highlighted section is contained to one table at a time, and does not span multiple tables. Other browsers might behave differently, but I don't think it would be a problem.

Another issue would show up if there is only 1 table's worth of data. You would need to add more code to make the other table(s) invisible in such a case, otherwise it would look sloppy as hxxx.

That is not an issue. I might not have explained myself well enough in the prior post. For single tables, no "hiding" is required as you described, as the modified template works with single-tables just like the current template does now. In the example page linked in the above post, if you scroll down to the section titled "MotoTrbo 1-Table layout", you will see how the modified template handles single-tables the same way the current template does, with or without the TrackerDMR statement visible; no problem.

I'd rather leave the template in a KISS mode - remember not everyone gets this deep into the functionality.

Mike

That's fine. No problem here. If later you think that side-by-side tables might be worth a try, the working code is in the history of the two pages mentioned above, so it will be easy enough to later use the above links to get a copy of each page's code and bring it forward to use as a starting-point.

Soon, I'm going to blank the Template:ForTestingOnly page, in case someone else wants to use it for testing. This will cause the example page linked above, to no longer render as it does now. But the code is in the history if we want it later.

Thanks for taking the time to consider it.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top