Need HELP programming a RS PRO-2052 scanner!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kebo57

Hi all, newbie here. To be honest, I joined hoping to be able to find someone fluent in programming RS PRO-2052 scanners who could help me out. To tell the story, the scanner is for my 86 yr old shut in mom who has always had a scanner to keep up with things around the county we lived in. She started out with one of those old Regency scanners that you had to buy the crystals for, those things were EASY to program lol. Anyway, her current scanner RS PRO-2032 doesn't pick up much anymore because the county she is in changed their transmission equipment. So, I recently picked up a RS PRO-2052 trunking scanner hoping it will pick up a few frequencies. I realize this will not get digital encrypted stuff, but if it will pick a few things on Fire, EMS, and/or some police, that is better than nothing and she will be happy. I picked up this PRO-2052 at the flea market for $5, so if it doesn't work any better, then I haven't lost much lol.

So, here comes the pitch... Is there anyone who could help me get this thing programmed??? I have ZERO experience with trying to program them, and with the instruction book being about 40 pages long, I really don't want to learn how (I am 60, btw). My mom would greatly appreciate it. :) She lives in Union county of South Carolina (29379), btw. If there was someone in the state, I would be willing to bring it to you and let you program it for me, for a reasonable fee. I actually live in the Columbia area myself. Let me know if you can help out. Thanks!

wtp

if it is this system

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=2356

it looks like the local stuff is all conventional.

also the easy to read manual is here

Easier to Read Pro 2052 Scanner Manual

1. In Manual Mode, enter the channel number where you want to program the frequency then press MANUAL to advance to the channel.