Need help programming Pro-197

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
3
Location
Clinton TN
I recently bought a Pro-197 and have been trying to program it myself (i prefer not to buy a program) but i can not get it to work for the life of me. Im entering the frequencys from here Anderson County, Tennessee (TN) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference but they never work. Im not sure what im doing wrong. I go to program-new-conv-then i enter in the freq and save then i click scan but all i hear is static. Can someone please tell me what to do? Thanks.
 

w2xq

Mentor
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
2,205
Location
Burlington County, NJ
With all due respect, unless you are only entering a few frequencies, programming an object-oriented scanner by hand is akin to doing a root canal on yourself. Scanner Master and other shops will do the programming for you if you don't want to buy a program.
 

Highpockets

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
3,801
Location
New Jersey
When you hit scan and you say you hear static, the on and off knob has an outer ring, (squelch) try setting the white line to about 11-12 o'clock, does the static go away?
 

N1BHH

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,845
Location
Jackson Square, East Weymouth, MA.
Programming manually teaches you how to program on the fly. You'll never know when you'll go to a new place and want to enter new frequencies. These object oriented scanners are much easier to program than many people make it out to be. And always remember, it's a hobby and you don't have to pull your hair out to enjoy the fun of scanning.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
1,852
Location
Macomb, Michigan
I recently bought a Pro-197 and have been trying to program it myself (i prefer not to buy a program) but i can not get it to work for the life of me. Im entering the frequencys from here Anderson County, Tennessee (TN) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference but they never work. Im not sure what im doing wrong. I go to program-new-conv-then i enter in the freq and save then i click scan but all i hear is static. Can someone please tell me what to do? Thanks.
Since I see your location is Clinton, Tennessee I am guessing you want the local PD and FD/EMS. As mentioned in another post make sure your squelch is a about noon.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
3
Location
Clinton TN
Ok thanks everyone for the replies. I broke down and got the arc 500 software and transferred a couple of frequencies to my scanner but I'm not able to hear anything but static. I'm messed around with the squelch but it doesn't seem to make a difference. All I can pick up is static. However I can pick up the weather channel fine. Any suggestions?
 

w2xq

Mentor
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
2,205
Location
Burlington County, NJ
Ok thanks everyone for the replies. I broke down and got the arc 500 software and transferred a couple of frequencies to my scanner but I'm not able to hear anything but static. I'm messed around with the squelch but it doesn't seem to make a difference. All I can pick up is static. However I can pick up the weather channel fine. Any suggestions?
Here's a file you can test. It is Anderson county itself plus Clinton. Looks like it is all conventional frequencies. Save your data first, then unZIP this one. Let us know. Hope this helps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
1,852
Location
Macomb, Michigan
Ok thanks everyone for the replies. I broke down and got the arc 500 software and transferred a couple of frequencies to my scanner but I'm not able to hear anything but static. I'm messed around with the squelch but it doesn't seem to make a difference. All I can pick up is static. However I can pick up the weather channel fine. Any suggestions?
You said you pick up the weather channel just fine. By chance is the weathr channel set to priority?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top