SDS100/SDS200: New P25p2 system coming in my area. How/where do I start listening?

bradg323

Premium Subscriber
Hello Everyone!

I've been scanning for almost 20 years, running digital on SDS200 for 2. My locality is currently building a new public safety 700MHz P25p2 system, will be starting testing on it any day now. They are switching from VHF Conventional to this new system as soon as testing checks out. For now, I am holding out hope that when our first responders are offered training that I (being a first responder myself) will receive more info on the system itself.

Get to the point... I have the Sites and Frequencies already, but how would I go about searching and discovering the talkgroups and units?

Here is what I have done so far:

Created a System,
Added the Sites,
Added all of the Freqs based on the FCC license to each Site,
Placed scanner into Discovery mode on the centrally located site(closest to my location),
Still waiting for that first hit.............

Am I even close? I want to help discover the new system as it comes online and feed information into RR.

Bradley

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hello Everyone!

I've been scanning for almost 20 years, running digital on SDS200 for 2. My locality is currently building a new public safety 700MHz P25p2 system, will be starting testing on it any day now. They are switching from VHF Conventional to this new system as soon as testing checks out. For now, I am holding out hope that when our first responders are offered training that I (being a first responder myself) will receive more info on the system itself.

Get to the point... I have the Sites and Frequencies already, but how would I go about searching and discovering the talkgroups and units?

Here is what I have done so far:

Created a System,
Added the Sites,
Added all of the Freqs based on the FCC license to each Site,
Placed scanner into Discovery mode on the centrally located site(closest to my location),