BCD160DN/BCD260DN: Newbie to all things scanner, newbie to BCD160DN

pglufkin

Simple question . . . how do I type in a specific frequency to listen to? Total newbie here . . . cannot find this in my manual.

Also, what can I read to get up to speed fast for all things related to my new BCD160DN?

Thank you

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Simple question . . . how do I type in a specific frequency to listen to? Total newbie here . . . cannot find this in my manual.

Also, what can I read to get up to speed fast for all things related to my new BCD160DN?

Thank you

If you're putting in frequencies manually, check your owner's manual, top of page 56 - "How do I..... Assign Channels".

Much easier to use the free Uniden programming software (PC only, not Mac) from this link:

K4EET

Chaplain
Hi @pglufkin and welcome to Radio Reference!

Before you go too far with that new scanner, and since you are new to scanners, are you aware that your scanner is analog-only and will not be able to receive digital signals? We don't know where you are so have you checked the Radio Reference database to make sure that who you want to listen to is still using the older analog technology? If any of them is operating with digital technology, you may want to return the new scanner and get a scanner that is capable of receiving compatible digital technologies.

Let us know if you need assistance.

Dave K4EET

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Before you go too far with that new scanner, and since you are new to scanners, are you aware that your scanner is analog-only and will not be able to receive digital signals?
Clarification:
The BCD160DN is not capable of handling P25 digital signals nor following a trunked system.

However, it can receive and decode DMR & NXDN channels, (both of these modes are digital), that are used as conventional channels, not part of a trunked system.

bearcatrp

Premium Subscriber