BCD536HP: Not for me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry1275

Newbie
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
16
Location
Leonardtown,Md
Tradeing this scanner this Friday this scanner is not working out for Harris P-25 ph-2 in St'Mary's co Maryland .scanner is Loud then low miss calls I had it with this scanner.......
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
269
Location
Clearwater, Fl.
Tradeing this scanner this Friday this scanner is not working out for Harris P-25 ph-2 in St'Mary's co Maryland .scanner is Loud then low miss calls I had it with this scanner.......
Probably because it's a Harris system. Nothing to do with your scanner at all. Try it on a Moto system and it will work fine HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
Tradeing this scanner this Friday this scanner is not working out for Harris P-25 ph-2 in St'Mary's co Maryland .scanner is Loud then low miss calls I had it with this scanner.......
I don't think it's a Harris vs. Motorola thing.

I have seen this volume issue on Motorola P25 systems - both Phase 1 and Phase 2.

On the other hand, I've been down to St Mary's County several times - as recently as 2 weeks ago and didn't see a volume issue at all on that system. In fact, while parked at the Wawa at Three Notch and Rt 5 for about an hour, the reception was very good (of course, there is a tower not far from that location).

I really can't explain the loud then soft volume issue but I've seen it on the Maryland FiRST system (Phase 2) as well as the NCR system/Fort Meade (Phase 1). I saw it for a while but not lately (all post firmware upgrade). It seemed to be most noticeable when scanning multiple systems/

There's just so many odd things about this radio - I don't know what to make of it.

I'm going to guess that - based on some various things I've seen - it has something to do with systems/data structures, etc. in the code/firmware not being properly initialized (clearly evident in the recording headers if anyone has looked). Again, I'm going to guess that some things were skipped either to speed things up (the processor seems to be overloaded) or it's just bad coding.

I'm 50/50 at this point as far as keeping the radio. The final test will be if/when we ever see this "app" materialize. I have a feeling part of the reason for the delay is that it further overloads the processor and the engineers are trying to figure out how to enable the app without further dragging the radio performance down (more than it is already).

EDIT: for what it's worth, although this system is listed as "Phase 2", it has been operating as Phase 1 since it went live in August - but it does suffer from the dreaded digital simulcast issues we've all come to know and hate.
 
Last edited:

AA6IO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,492
Location
Cerritos, CA (LA County)
Troy,
This is the first time I am actually responding to one of your comments. So first I have to ask, don't you get a headache by keeping banging your head on that desk?
On a more serious note, I think you are right about one of the reasons for delay of the apps on 536HP. We have all discussed some factors, such as recording, that seem to slow down button responses, etc. I also believe the lack of the Wi-Fi app at this point has a great deal to do with processor overload. I think that may also be why we are not seeing the "analyze features" coming out yet. After all, it has to be similarly coded (software wise) to the HomePatrol. But nothing yet. Hope we are way off base on our presumptions, but I think the "processor" may be the hang up in this whole delay. Otherwise, it is hard for me to believe that the Uniden engineers can't get the app software itself to work. There seems to be something else going on.
Steve AA6IO
 

pinballwiz86

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
1,469
Location
Missouri
I've noticed the BCD396XT slows down when it hits a P25 system with Close Call then goes to "hits with scan".
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,311
Location
Louisville, KY
I've noticed that some systems seem to have "extra loud" audio versus other systems on a consistent basis. I have been able to deal with the "extra loud" systems by setting the Volume Offset to -2. That "balances" the audio level so the volume is reasonably consistent for all the systems I monitor.

I suspect Uniden included the Volume Offset feature because differing audio levels is a frequent occurrence.

If the volume problem is inconsistent (some transmissions high, some low), that could be something that scanner users or manufacturers has no control over. Rather it might be the person talking on the radio isn't speaking loudly or has the microphone too far away.
 

Ghstwolf62

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
1,314
Location
Clifton Forge Virginia
OFD8001,
You're right, I have a P25 system out here and sometimes the officers almost mumble into the mic their volume is so low. Its not the scanner or the system but the way the officer is using the radio. My 600 will get the same transmission with the same low audio. But the rest of the system is fine.

Now sometimes I've found an agency on the system is consistently louder than another agency which I have no explanation for but usually its the person speaking. DGIF 2 out here is always louder than other DGIF channels or just about any other state channel for that matter.

It applies to analog too. We have a deputy that mumbles so low even turning up a commercial rig to full volume I still can't make out what he's saying most of the time. How dispatch ever hears him, much less understands him, I have no idea. :)
 

MesquiteWx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
287
Location
Texas
Hope we are way off base on our presumptions, but I think the "processor" may be the hang up in this whole delay. Otherwise, it is hard for me to believe that the Uniden engineers can't get the app software itself to work. There seems to be something else going on.
Steve AA6IO
That something else is the WiFi adapter is junk which they are having trouble with.

I am still up in the air over the P25 performance of this radio. I am still trying to determine if it is the system or the radio before I come to a conclusion. I am also wanting on the App to release mainly for the firmware update for the LAN base streaming. Once all that is clear then I will decide if I will junk this or roll with it. It's a shame because this radio has some really great functions and high points. Unfortunately it's the big things that are making it a deal breaker.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
The thing that annoyed me is when you hear something good and you go and hit that button to make it stop and the scanner keeps trucking along,like you didnt even hit a button and you miss your action !
I sold mine.Went back to using the old scanner.The Home Patrol idea is what kills the whole "experience" on the end user side.They should have left the scanners the way they had em,they were good,I had two 996XTs at one time.
 

desert-cheetah

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 10, 2010
Messages
664
Location
In the desert someplace
The thing that annoyed me is when you hear something good and you go and hit that button to make it stop and the scanner keeps trucking along,like you didnt even hit a button and you miss your action !
I sold mine.Went back to using the old scanner.The Home Patrol idea is what kills the whole "experience" on the end user side.They should have left the scanners the way they had em,they were good,I had two 996XTs at one time.
I don't know about the 536 but the 436 has 3 'hold' buttons. The first time I tried it, I only held the system and it kept scanning. It took trial and error, but I discovered the 3rd button holds the channel so you can follow that 'good call' to the end.
 

N2MWE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
2,462
Location
New York State, Land of King Putz
I've said before...some people's voices do not project and they sound horrible on P25, whether Phase 1 or 2. I monitored Rockland. Some came through perfect, some were garbled on the same talk group. It is not the radio but the user in my opinion.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Hit_Factor

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
1,080
Location
Saint Joseph, MI
Saw inside Investigative news van a Uniden trunk tracker scanner. Looked like an older scanner model. I thought they would have something more elaborate.
They probably are not interested in scanning as much as they are news. If they think it's working it's not given a second thought
 

stingray327

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,668
Location
San Francisco, California bay area
They probably are not interested in scanning as much as they are news. If they think it's working it's not given a second thought
But you would think that they would have the best equipment for reception just like their cams and other equipment as that is their livlihood.. One of the had an old Antenna Specialist Mon 51 which was discontinued a long time ago. Excellent antenna. Can only get it through secondary market like E=bay at twice the cost.
I thought for sure they would have that Home Patrol feature since they are on the road alot and maybe in other diffierent jurisdictions so the scanner would pick up everything in the area.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top