• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

NXDN Encryption Key ID

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
828
Hi all. I've been set an interesting challenge by a colleague looking for help and it's got me stumped too: so looking for any bright sparks of help/innovation.

Here's the scenario: He uses his NX200 handheld at various locations up and down the country, with some channels added to the scan list used in listen-only mode. Two of the sites have started to enable the built-in NXDN encryption to their channels. The encryption key is known, programmed into the NX220, operates as before, so no issue here. But the problem is now visiting the second site. The same encryption key is now being used at both sites, but at one site it's been programmed into Key ID = 0 and at the other as Key ID =1. It looks like the NX200 can only only accept a key once in the Key Data list so I can't place it at both Key ID =0 and KeyID = 1 locations? Have I missed something, or do you think this is resigned to a reprogram to reset the Key ID field every time he flips betwen sites ?
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,345
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
I think if both sites were using Key ID 0, this would work.

Haven't played with the function much. I use encryption on my trunked system, but that's a bit different than what you are doing.
kd4efm might have some input.
 

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
828
I think if both sites were using Key ID 0, this would work.
Thanks, and agreed: unfortunately not something that I can change. I think I'll be out of luck, but thought I'd open it to the experts on this forum.
From the KPG111 software: "Key Data: The same Key Data cannot be duplicated" so I think I'll struggle. Strange as with other non-Kenwood radios it is possible program in the same Key data to different Key ID positions.
 

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
828
Thanks. Interesting feature. Unfortunately thid doesn't appear to be available for the KPG-111D software or the NXx00 series.
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
Thanks. Interesting feature. Unfortunately third doesn't appear to be available for the KPG-111D software or the NXx00 series.

Whats not available???

The KEY ID SCAN? KPG-111D, you need to get the latest version then
KPG-D1, has it.
I use it, alot.

NOW as for same KEY DATA, no it wont allow you to duplicate
 

jhampton2000

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
828
ignore my last.....if it doesn't allow duplicate key data like other encryption/manufacturers do then its not going to help much.
 

kd4efm

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,623
Location
Florida
No, the other site will need to be a seperate key data and ID.

EDIT: OR you will have to have a second radio (sadly)
I tried the duplicate data thing on my KPG-AE1 (aes/des keyloaded) and it too did not
like duplicate keys with seperate key id's
 
Top