Pro 197 no audio

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaybw54

Hello all, this is my first time here. Nice place you have here.

I hope you can help. I have a Pro 197 that I’m have trouble with, not sure if it’s the unit or me.

I purchased this radio used about 8 or 10 years ago, I don’t recall if I had issues with it then, but something made me loose interest in it. I would now like to get this scanner up and running, so I got my ARC 500 subscription going and also my Radio Reference premium membership.

I downloaded all of the public service frequencies for Summit County Ohio. (where I live). Everything worked great, but I have a big issue. When scanning, I get great signal strength on all frequencies, but no modulation. (Audio). When going to the NOAA station, same thing but I can hear the station, but barely. Volume and squelch have no effect. (They're normal). I'm using a rooftop antenna. Switching out the antenna with the telescoping one that came with the unit makes no difference.

I probably missed something really simple. Any idea what that might be?

tvengr

Well Known Member
Try plugging in headphones or an external speaker. Sitting all those years, the switch on the headphone jack may be corroded and disabling the speaker. Work a plug in and out of the headphone jack several times and see if that makes a difference.

k7xta

KE7CYT
Premium Subscriber
tvengr makes a good suggestion.
I had a similar problem on one of my rigs.
When I worked a headphone plug in and out a few times, I put a little aerosal contact cleaner on it first. Worked fine ever since.

jaybw54

Excellent idea! I also used a little shot of contact cleaner and the plug to my headphones. I had high hopes, but it didn't work. Thank you for the suggestions.

tvengr

Well Known Member
Excellent idea! I also used a little shot of contact cleaner and the plug to my headphones. I had high hopes, but it didn't work. Thank you for the suggestions.