• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

PRO-2096 Programing question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
I am trying to program in freqs for Scott AFB in IL. (Mascoutah)

Freqs list here are 138.1375, 138.2125, 138.2625, etc.

When I enter them into scanner I get the following...

138.1400, 138.2150, 138.3900, 138.4150, etc.

Looking at the specs, I think the scanner supports that step in that band.

Any suggestions?
 
Last edited:

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
Differant steps?

Is there someting that needs to be done to switch the steps?

Am I wrong in assuming that would covered under 6.25 khz steps?

According to the manual the scanner covers 5, 6.25, or 7.5 steps.

Anybody?
 

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,665
The manual is not very clear. Here are the step sizes.

0.0050 - 24.9950 5.00
25.0000 - 54.0000 5.00
54.0050 - 107.9950 5.00
108.0000 - 136.9875 12.50
137.0000 - 150.7750 5.00
150.7825 - 150.8125 7.50
150.8150 - 154.4525 7.50
154.4562 - 154.4787 7.50
154.4825 - 154.5050 7.50
154.5100 - 154.5250 5.00
154.5275 - 154.5462 6.25
154.5475 - 154.6075 7.50
154.6100 - 154.6550 5.00
154.6575 - 156.2475 7.50
156.2500 - 157.4750 5.00
157.4775 - 161.5650 7.50
161.5700 - 173.2000 5.00
173.2037 - 173.2225 6.25
173.2250 - 173.3875 6.25
173.3900 - 173.4150 6.25
173.4200 - 174.0000 5.00
174.0050 - 216.0000 5.00
222.0000 - 225.0000 5.00
225.0050 - 405.9950 5.00
406.0000 - 512.0000 6.25
512.0062 - 805.9937 6.25
806.0000 - 823.9875 6.25
849.0000 - 868.9875 6.25
894.0000 - 960.0000 6.25
960.0062 - 1239.9937 6.25
1240.0000 - 1300.0000 6.25
1300.0062 - 4194.3000 6.25

In the range you are interested in the step size is 5 kHz and cannot be changed. You will be able to get within 2.5 kHz of the desired frequency and that is close enough for the radio to work.
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,736
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
You need to set the table.

This table is from the database page in RR
Base: 138.1375
Offset: 551
Step:12.5

However, I scanned Scott last fall going west then back east a week later and used this table.
Base: 137.0000
Offset: 460
Step: 12.5

Try the first and if it doesn't work try mine.

Set either as follows:
PROG
TRUNK
FUNC + 2
Key in the Base freq then press E
key in the Offset then press E
Use the down button to step 12.5KHz then press E
FUNC + 4
Use up button to Table then press E
Press SCAN
 

jeffrey420

Member
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
357
Thanks alot

Well pro92b that explains why it wouldn't work. Looking at the manual you would think it was selectable. Imagine that, a RS scanner manual not very clear. LOL
The manuals seemed to be written much clearer in years past.
Thanks for the breakdown....

Thanks fmon, I am planning on catching the Thunderbirds there this summer. Thought it would be nice to listen to the ground communications on the way there. I already have the first setup programed in. I will take the second along just in case.

Thanks again! Now I can stop pulling my hair out.
 

pro92b

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Messages
1,665
Just fyi - the two tables Frank posted are entirely equivalent. If one works, the other will too.
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,736
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
Thanks for the tip pro92b, I didn't pay any attention. Also the DB has an additional freq which is not in my p96 file and many more TG's.

Jeff, the system is low power, so you won't hear anything until you are near the base. Enjoy the TBirds, they were here at Langley AFB last month.
 

larrybusterc

Member
Joined
May 28, 2006
Messages
4
how do i get my password so i can youfrequence i sine in as larrybusterc could you tell me how to get my password larrybusterc@ yahoo.com
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
fmon said:
Thanks for the tip pro92b, I didn't pay any attention. Also the DB has an additional freq which is not in my p96 file and many more TG's.

Jeff, the system is low power, so you won't hear anything until you are near the base. Enjoy the TBirds, they were here at Langley AFB last month.
Any idea what power output the system has?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top