PRO-96 Programing for STARS

Status
Not open for further replies.

jknight988

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Bought refurb PRO-96 since I heard it did a fantistic job tracking STARS. Downloaded WIN96 software. Any and all guidance in programing it to cover STARS Division 5 (Chesapeake) would be greatly appreciated.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,699
Location
Bowie, Md.
While I'm not familiar enough with STARS to give some specifics, at least I can give you 2 things that will get you started...first the database entry that lists Chesapeake's freqs...(all links are in blue)

STARS Virginia- the RadioReference DB

and the Wiki article with special instructions for Win96...

Trunktrackers and STARS - The RadioReference Wiki

You will also need a USB-serial cable so you can connect your PC to the scanner. The RS number, and some specifics about what to watch out for, are discussed here...

Connecting Scanners via USB-the RadioReference Wiki

73 Mike
 
Last edited:

jknight988

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Living here in Virginia Beach, programmed PRO-96 using WIN96 software to copy STARS (Chesapeake/Division 5 VSP). Utilized .p96 file provided by "fmon" for this area (thanks again!). Also downloaded data from RR. The good news is that it appears to be scanning correctly. The bad news is that I'm hearing little to no traffic (only system talkgroups 2212 & 6673 so far). HHHmmm, am I missing something? Using standard antenna shipped with PRO-96.

Signed: Determined!
 

tglendye

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2002
Messages
1,808
You should be hearing plenty of VSP traffic from Chesapeake in the 50's and low 60 talk groups. Do you have anything locked out by mistake? I've never had a Pro-96, so I am not sure of the in/outs with the radio.

Todd
 

Webodisk

Mike
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,071
Location
Virginia Beach,VA
I never had much luck with my pro 96 or 2096 tracking VSP on STARS.....Finally gave up and bought a pro 106 and pro 197

Mike
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
I never had much luck with my pro 96 or 2096 tracking VSP on STARS.....Finally gave up and bought a pro 106 and pro 197

Mike
Yup, that file has
Code:
Chesapeake 1    00049  
Div5 Tac 1      00050  
Chesapeake 2    00051  
Div 5 Tac 2     00052  
Div5 Tac Red    00055  
Div5 Surveil    00061
in it and set to open. As stated in OP's previous thread, the 96 doesn't do as well on STARS as the 106/500/197/600 scanners.
 

jknight988

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
12
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Verified all system settings to be correct. Still hearing very limited STARS traffic. Should I look at purchasing a single band antenna to improve my reception? Any suggestions as to which one? As you can tell, I'm a real novice at this hobby . . .

Thanks in advance.

-Jim-
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top