Problems with Pro-96 & Austin PD

Status
Not open for further replies.

cplbeowulf

I have a Pro-96 and have programmed in the nine Austin PD sector channels (adam, baker, charlie, etc.), but I am getting crappy reception. I've updated to the latest 1.4 firmware. The voices are usually very garbled or clipped regardless of what sector is transmitting. Occasionally I'll get a clear transmission, but it only seems to be about 1 in 10 that come in clearly.

So I'm not sure if there is a problem with my programming, a general reception problem (I have the 800mhz rubber antenna RS 20-283), or if there is a defect with my pro-96. I seem to get the same garbled reception regardless of where I am in Austin.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to understanding digital trunking, so I could have easily botched the programming part... there are a million options (using Win96) and I haven't a clue what they all do.

If anyone has a good working Win96 config file they wouldn't mind sharing that has the Austin police channels I'd be very appreciative. I'd like to eliminate my possibly erroneous programming as the cause of my problems.

Thanks!
Cpl Beowulf

bpckty1

The Pro-96's digital audio leaves a lot to be desired. It creates a metallic voice. Sometimes it sounds as if the speaker is really a cat being strangled.

;^>

(Memory combined a couple of updates, so I am editing portions of my previous post.)