ProCom96 feeder?

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Todd - I sent you an email with a possible solution to the data format.
Thank you. That format worked! I added support for the P25_TSBK style messages. I'll add support for the P25_PDU multi-block messages before I release it. Here are some images of Pro96Com being driven by the P25RX.

pro96com_p25rx_feed1.pngpro96com_p25rx_feed2.pngpro96com_p25rx_support.png
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Testing version 2021-09-15_0005 has full support for Pro96Com control channel data collection via TSBK and PDU type control channel messages. To use it, go to the console in BTConfig and enter the command: 'pro96_en 1'. If you want the device to come up in this mode after a power-up, then also issue a 'save' command. Note the com/serial port shown in the upper left hand corner and exit the BTConfig software. In the Data Configuration option of Pro96Com, select the serial port you noted and select the PSR-800/WS-1080/XXXX option for the scanner model. If you don't want voice channels to stop the data collection and cause missing information, then configure the P25RX to not "allow unknown talkgroups" and then disable all talk groups in the editor. This will prevent the P25RX from switching to a voice channel. The next BTConfig release will have some new audio options.
 

ralexander5

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
73
Location
Mathis, Tx
Testing version 2021-09-15_0005 has full support for Pro96Com control channel
Tried new version. I probably need faster CPU, Pro96Com raw data log has a lot of noise in it. The packet dump tab looks okay.

P25:TBEE0913E:S0000:CC00:p25TSBK:BA 00 00 21 3E 02 32 17 0E 60 57 71 2[d
Avi l 7w vRvT vl 7w? 7[W Owywx<su
P25:TBEE0913E:S0000:CC00:p25TSBK:39 00 02 32 15 98 04 15 98 04 0F 24
P25:TBEE0913E:S0000:CC00:p25TSBK:3B 00 00 BE E0 91 3E 17 0E 60 69 16
P25:TBEE0913E:S0000:CC00:p25TSBK:85 90 C0 3F 3F 00 00 00 00 00 07 4D 2[d


Is there a command to switch between P25 and TDMA CC without rewriting config? I do not see anything that looks like one when entering "?" on console.

Should the TDMA CC mode work in the same way as P25. Entering "Pro96_en 1" does not change output.
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Tried new version. I probably need faster CPU, Pro96Com raw data log has a lot of noise in it. The packet dump tab looks okay.
You might want to try a different powered USB hub? The TSBK and PDU messages are 100% crc checked, so there are no errors in any of the data sent to Pro96Com when in this mode unless it gets corrupted during the transfer over the USB serial port. You did quit the BTConfig software to free up the serial port?

Is there a command to switch between P25 and TDMA CC without rewriting config? I do not see anything that looks like one when entering "?" on console.

Should the TDMA CC mode work in the same way as P25. Entering "Pro96_en 1" does not change output.
The TDMA CC mode will not work with Pro96Com at this point. I haven't looked into what TDMA CC messages would work if they were sent out. Obviously Pro96Com was intended to work with a standard P1 control channel, but I think there is at least some common overlap between P1/P2 control messages. Pro96Com looks like it can be configured to log unknown packets, so it might be worth a try to output them and see what happens. I'll do this.
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
@ralexander5, please give 2021-09-15_0852 a try in TDMACC mode with 'pro96_en 1'. I think there is a good chance this will produce some useful output.

-edit: change to _0852
-edit2: Another thought on the noise you are seeing in the data. If this is caused by a weak USB port, then turning off Bluetooth might help. This will reduce the current requirements significantly and ensure that there are no peaks above the 500mA limit.
 
Last edited:

ralexander5

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
73
Location
Mathis, Tx
please give 2021-09-15_0852 a try in TDMACC mode with 'pro96_en 1'
Getting noise. I'm off to get a powered hub. I have been connected directly to computers USB port. The data on the Console tab of BTconfig looks good so its possibly an overrun on the Pro96Com side. I will also try connecting a PSR800 to Pro96Com to see if it does same thing.

Pro96TDMA.JPG
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Getting noise. I'm off to get a powered hub. I have been connected directly to computers USB port. The data on the Console tab of BTconfig looks good so its possibly an overrun on the Pro96Com side. I will also try connecting a PSR800 to Pro96Com to see if it does same thing.
If it looks good in BTConfig, then it should look good in Pro96Com. The issue may be something else. Maybe it is the serial driver that Pro96Com is using on your system. I tested on WIndows 10. I realized that I didn't quite get the TDMACC support right on the latest release. I need to account for one other difference. I will have another version ready soon.
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
@ralexander5, I just realized that the garbage you are seeing is probably a fw issue. The CRC calculations are done on multiple blocks for TDMACC and use a different polynomial. I needed to recalculate the crc for each 9-byte message and convert to a 12-byte TSBK message. Sorry about that. I hope you didn't already head out to buy a USB hub. There is a new version to try for the TDMACC mode. 2021-09-15_1038
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Pro96Com works fine on Linux running with wine. Follow these instructions for serial port configuration:
I also found that I needed to set the baud rate before starting wine/Pro96Com like this:
stty -F /dev/ttyACM3 115200

pro96com_running_on_linux.png
 

ralexander5

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
73
Location
Mathis, Tx
Running the 2021-09-15_1038 version. Both P25 Phase 1 and TDMA CC sites producing bad data lines (Ph 1 raw data below). The Ph 1 site does show data in the Packet Dump tab. The TDMA CC does not appear to have changed. Nothing is decoded.

Pro96P25Ph1.JPG
 

btt

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
Messages
1,030
Location
Wa State
Running the 2021-09-15_1038 version. Both P25 Phase 1 and TDMA CC sites producing bad data lines (Ph 1 raw data below). The Ph 1 site does show data in the Packet Dump tab. The TDMA CC does not appear to have changed. Nothing is decoded.
Sounds like two different issues. You are definitely having some kind of issue with either USB, serial driver, etc. Phase 1 output is working 100% correct in the firmware here. I see a constant receive rate of 100% (usually displays 102%), so no data is being lost from the control channel. P1 data is all either CRC16 or CRC32 validated before sending to Pro96Com. The issue with TDMACC not working at all is probably firmware. Please send me a new image for that mode or a sample of the output and I will see if I can figure out what is going on.
 
Top